How Do I?: Connect from Home

Connect From Home

The use of electronic resources like databases and e-journals is governed by licenses or contracts signed by the library with vendors and publishers. 

Most of the Library's licenses for electronic resources permit only current University of Saskatchewan students, staff, and faculty (including emeriti, adjunct professors, and other research associates) to access the resources from off-campus. Most licenses do not permit remote access by alumni or members of the public. 

The Library's authentication system permits remote access to authorized users of electronic resources via proxy software. The proxy program is EZProxy, which permits access to electronic resources without requiring you to make any setting changes in your browser. By accessing library resources through the Catalogue or Library website, you will be routed through the proxy and will be prompted to authenticate.

The Library authentication system requires you to enter your University Network Service ID and password in order to identify you as an authorized user.

The authentication will ask for: 

  • Username: (Enter your university NSID - same as PAWS)
  • Password: (Enter your NSID password - same as PAWS)


Campus Workstations

There is usually no requirement to authenticate yourself from a campus workstation. Members of the public may access most of the electronic resources from a public workstation at any of the University Branch Libraries for occasional, non-commercial, research and educational use.  More information about computers in the library can be found here

Access Articles & Databases Off Campus

When you are searching for research articles off campus you might encounter a publisher's paywall that prevents you from gaining access to the full text. If the University Library subscribes to that electronic resource this bookmarklet can give you fast and easy access.

https://flic.kr/p/6jJFCh

  • If you use Chrome, Safari or Firefox drag the UofS Proxy link to your bookmark bar!
  • If you use Internet Explorer, right click on the link above and save to your favorites bar.

When you are prevented from accessing an article on a publisher's website click on the bookmarklet link in your toolbar to automatically gain access to the full text version. You must be logged in to your PAWS account to use the proxy service. If you are not already logged in you will automatically be prompted to enter your NSID and password.

This video tutorial demonstrates how to set up the bookmarklet in your web browser. It work for all journals and databases that the University of Saskatchewan Library subscribes to. 

Using the USask Proxy URL

Most of our online journals are only available to members of the campus community. When you are on campus, you are able to automatically access most resources because the system identifies your location. When you are off-campus, you need to login with your NSID and password. 

If you have found an online article on a publisher's website, but you don't want to go to the University Library website and search for it again, there is another option: 

When you are on the publisher's website (and it is asking you to pay for the article)...

Manually insert the UofS proxy string .cyber.usask.ca into the article URL between the ".com" and the rest of the address. You will be prompted to login with your NSID & password (from the site you are on), and you will be given full text access if the library subscribes to that journal.

For example:

article: www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0099133312001231

*Add the proxy string immediately after the .com:
www.sciencedirect.com.cyber.usask.ca/science/article/pii/S0099133312001231

Remote Access to Software

Use FindIt! and Google Scholar

To enable FindIt! in Google Scholar on your personal computer:

  1. Access Google Scholar using this link
  2. Select Settings from the top of the Google Scholar screen before you enter your search terms
  3. Select Library Links from the left side of the screen
  4. In the Library Links text box type University of Saskatchewan then select the search button
  5. The page will display "University of Saskatchewan library" selected with a checkbox. Select the Save button. This preference will now be saved for any future searches on this computer. You will need to repeat this process for any additional computers you use
  6. Back on the search screen, enter your search terms
  7. From your search results, choose Fulltext@UofSLibrary to view the full-text of a journal article, or search for a book title in the UofS Library Catalogue. 

*Please Note: If you are accessing licensed library resources off-campus you will automatically be asked to authenticate with your NSID and password. 

To enable direct export from Google Scholar to your RefWorks account: 

  1. Follow steps 1 & 2 above
  2. Under Search Results change the Bibliography Manager option to Show links to import into RefWorks from the drop down menu

  3. Save. This preference will be saved for any future searches on this computer. You will have to repeat these steps on any additional computers you use. 

To initiate a direct export to RefWorks:

  1. Conduct your search in Google Scholar
  2. Each record displayed will have an Import into RefWorks link. Clicking on that link will launch the RefWorks login page
  3. Once you log in, your reference will automatically be imported into your Last Imported folder

*Note: You can only import one reference at a time from Google Scholar into RefWorks