Library Researcher Series: Home

A drop-in workshop series offered by the University Library in Fall and Winter terms.

Winter 2017 SCHEDULE

 

March - April Sessions Date & Time Presenter
Introduction to EndNote
(all welcome to attend)
Wed March 1, 11:00am Vicky Duncan
Structuring and Writing a Successful Thesis
(limited to current grad students)
Mon March 6, 4:45pm Grad Writing Specialist
Searching for Grey Literature
(all welcome to attend)
Wed March 8, 3:00pm Vicky Duncan
Teaching Students to Evaluate Sources for their Research
(all welcome to attend)
Thurs March 9, 11:00am David Smith
Introduction to Mendeley
(all welcome to attend)
Tues March 14, 12:00pm DeDe Dawson
Writing in Plain Language: How to Be Less Wordy
(limited to current grad students)
Tues March 14, 4:45pm Grad Writing Specialist
Using Social Media in Research
(all welcome to attend)
Thurs March 23, 2:30pm Tracie Risling
Perfect Punctuation
(limited to current grad students)
Mon March 27, 4:45pm Grad Writing Specialist
Writing a Scholarship Proposal
(limited to current grad students)
Tues April 4, 4:45pm Grad Writing Specialist

Hello

February Sessions Date & Time Presenter
Strategies for Reading in Grad School
(limited to current students)
Wed Feb 1, 10:30am Grad Peer Mentor
Overcoming Self-Doubt as a Graduate Student
(limited to current students)
Thurs Feb 2, 10:00am Grad Peer Mentor
Microform Resources in Humanities Research
(all welcome to attend)
Tues Feb 7, 3:00pm David Smith & Donna Canevari
What to Do When Your Article is Rejected
(limited to current students)
Wed Feb 8, 10:30am Grad Peer Mentor
The Best Thesis Done is a Done Thesis: Strategies for Completing Your Master’s Thesis
(limited to current students)
Thurs Feb 9, 10:00am Grad Peer Mentor
Predatory Publishers: Strategies to Identify & Avoid Them
(all welcome to attend)
Thurs Feb 9, 11:00am DeDe Dawson & Maha Kumaran
Preparing Your Oral Presentation to Your Advisory Committee
(limited to current students)
Fri Feb 10, 9:30am Grad Peer Mentor
How to Handle the Q&A After Your Presentations
(limited to current students)
Fri Feb 10, 12:00pm Grad Peer Mentor
Library Resources for Canadian & US History
(all welcome to attend)
Mon Feb 13, 11:00am David Smith
Finding Sources for a Literature Review
(all welcome to attend)
Tues Feb 14, 3:00pm Carolyn Doi
Weaving Ideas Together: Flow and Coherence in Writing
(limited to current grad students)
Wed Feb15, 4:45pm Grad Writing Specialist
Poster Design and Presentation for Graduate Students
(limited to current students)
Fri Feb 17, 12:00pm Grad Peer Mentor

Hello

January Sessions Date & Time Presenter
New Year Resolutions for Grad Students Wed, 11 Jan, 10:30am Grad Peer Mentor
Mini Refresher Courses in Sentence Structure
(4 week course, mandatory to attend all 4 sessions)
Wed, 11 Jan, 4:00pm
(Jan 11 – Feb 1)
Grad Writing Specialist
An Introduction to the Statement of Intent Thu, 12 Jan, 10:00am Grad Peer Mentor
Public Speaking for Graduate Students Fri, 13 Jan, 12:00pm Grad Peer Mentor
Publishing Scientific Articles: Basic Concepts Tue, 17 Jan, 10:30am Grad Peer Mentor
What to Do When Your Article is Rejected Wed, 18 Jan, 10:30am Grad Peer Mentor
Dealing with Revisions: Steps for Improvement Thu, 19 Jan, 10:00am Grad Peer Mentor
So You Think You Want to Do a Systematic Review Mon, 23 Jan, 12pm Catherine Boden
Slide:ology: Improving Your Design Thinking Tue, 24 Jan, 10:30am Grad Peer Mentor
How to Choose Faculty to Sit on Your Dissertation Committee Wed, 25 Jan, 10:30am Grad Peer Mentor
The Best Thesis Is a Done Thesis: Strategies for Completing Your Master's Thesis Thu, 26 Jan, 10:00am Grad Peer Mentor
Conference Presentations for Graduate Students Fri, 27 Jan, 12:00pm Grad Peer Mentor
How to Get a Scholarship: Basic Tips and Techniques for Grad Students Mon, 30 Jan, 10:30am Grad Peer Mentor
Introduction to RefWorks Tues, 31 Jan, 3pm MaryLynn Gagne