Library Researcher Series: Home

A drop-in workshop series offered by librarians in Fall and Winter terms.

Library Researcher Series

 

The Library Researcher Series (LRS) provides workshops on interdisciplinary topics of relevance to the research of graduate students and faculty. All sessions are free! No registration necessary. 

If you wish to follow along with some of the sessions please bring your own laptop or borrow one from the Murray Library.

January 2015 Sessions

Tues Jan 20 - Why and How to Do a Comprehensive Literature Review – Part A, 12-1pm, Murray Library Rm 161

This session will describe the reasons for doing a comprehensive literature review, and will focus on designing a search strategy for keyword databases such as Scopus, Web of Science and Google Scholar.  We will briefly cover saving your search, and writing up your literature review.

Session led by Vicky Duncan, Health Sciences Librarian & Angie Gerrard, Social Sciences Librarian.

Thurs Jan 22 - Why and How to Do a Comprehensive Literature Review – Part B, 12-1pm, Murray Library Rm 161

This session will describe the reasons for doing a comprehensive literature review, and will focus on designing a search strategy for databases with subject headings such as Medline, ERIC, and PsycINFO.  We will briefly cover saving your search, and writing up your literature review.

Session led by Vicky Duncan & Maha Kumaran, Health Sciences Librarians.

Tues Jan 29 - Beware of Predatory Publishers!, 12-1pm, Murray Library Rm 102

What do you need to know when choosing a publisher or journal? Come to this session to learn how to identify deceptive publishers... and strategies to avoid them!

Session led by Maha Kumaran, Health Sciences Librarian, & DeDe Dawson, Science Librarian.

February 2015 Sessions

Thurs Feb 5 - Keeping Current with the Literature, 12-1pm, Murray Library, Rm 102

Are you feeling overwhelmed with the amount of literature published in your field? Afraid you’ll miss an important paper? Come to this session to learn strategies for keeping up-to-date with scholarly literature: from email alerting services to rss feeds.

Session led by DeDe Dawson, Science Librarian.

Thurs Feb 12 - Searching for Grey Literature, 12-1pm, Murray Library, Rm 102

Grey literature includes that 'hard to find' information that is not published in the traditional manner. Grey literature can include conference proceedings, powerpoint presentations, reports from research institutions and think-tanks, and government publications.  This session will cover tips and tricks to finding this type of information.

Session led by Angie Gerrard, Social Sciences Librarian.

Thurs Feb 19 - Break Week - no session

Thurs Feb 26 - Why and How to Do a Comprehensive Literature Review – Part A, 12-1pm, Murray Library, Rm 161

This session will describe the reasons for doing a comprehensive literature review, and will focus on designing a search strategy for keyword databases such as Scopus, Web of Science and Google Scholar.  We will briefly cover saving your search, and writing up your literature review. (Repeat offering of Sept 23 session).

Session led by Tasha Maddison, Science Librarian.

March 2015 Sessions

Thurs Mar 5 - Why and How to Do a Comprehensive Literature Review – Part B, 12-1pm, Murray Library, Rm 161

This session will describe the reasons for doing a comprehensive literature review, and will focus on designing a search strategy for databases with subject headings such as Medline, ERIC, and PsycINFO.  We will briefly cover saving your search, and writing up your literature review. (Repeat offering of Sept 25 session).

Session led by Tasha Maddison, Science Librarian.

Thurs Mar 12 - 10 Government Research Tips You Need to Know, 12-1pm, Murray Library, Rm 102

The landscape for government information has shifted dramatically. With a press of button or the closure of library, government information can disappear. As researchers, we need to switch up our search strategies and use new tools.  Find out about new search engines for government information, special e-archives, mining the dark web for government information, and newly digitized historical publications in this fast paced session touching on local, provincial, federal and international publications.

Session led by Darlene Fichter, Government Information Librarian

Thurs Mar 19 - Using the DiRT (Digital Research Tools) Directory in your Research, 12-1pm, Murray Library, Rm 102

The DiRT Directory makes it easy for researchers to find and compare digital research tools for scholarly use. Tools range from content management systems to music OCR, statistical analysis packages to mindmapping software. This session will discuss the purpose of DiRT, what it can do for your research, and will demonstrate some of the more broadly useful tools for various fields of research.

Session led by Shannon Lucky, IT Librarian.

Thurs Mar 26 - Research Data Management, 12-1pm, Murray Library, Rm 102

Caring for your data – ideas for planning for, storing, & sharing the data from your research program.  This year, we’ll focus especially on deposit platforms, such as ICPSR and Dataverse.  This session offers a brief introduction to the trendy topic of research data management.  All disciplines welcome.

Session led by Jessica Gallinger, Data & GIS Librarian, & Sean Cavanaugh, ICT.

Planning Team Members

Please contact any of these librarians if you have comments or suggestions for this series:

Tips and Tricks