Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Bloomsbury Architecture Library offers the landmark 21st edition of Sir Banister Fletcher’s Global History of Architecture, fully rewritten with updates from over 100 experts, and an expanding range of eBooks, covering architecture, architectural history, theory, design, urbanism, landscape, and interiors.
Trial
From 16th century origins as a trading venture to the East Indies, through to its rise as the world’s most powerful company and de facto ruler of India, to its demise amid allegations of greed and corruption – the East India Company was an extraordinary force in global history.
Three modules available.
From the Company’s charter in 1600 to Indian independence in 1947, East India Company tells the story of trade with the East; politics; and the rise and fall of the British Empire. It records the challenges of a globalising world and sheds light on many contrasting narratives – from records of powerful political figures, through to the lives of native populations and the individual traders who lived and worked at the edge of Empire.
Trial

The wonderfully rich and diverse South Asian manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland are extremely varied, ranging from the papers of key East India Company representatives and colonial officials to records of daily life in Agra, Bombay, Lahore, and Madras.


This collection weaves the story of India and Empire through the writings of Governor-Generals, Commander-in-Chiefs, Indian Princes, soldiers, traders, missionaries, explorers, historians and authors of literary works, indigo farmers and tea and coffee planters.


Especially strong for the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, this collection will be of particular interest to historians studying: British Indian Empire; government, administration and politics, the relationship between Britain and the British Indian Empire, the role of the Scots in India, the Indian Uprising and trade and agriculture.

New
A full-text online legal library which contains UK, Irish, EU and international case law, legislation and parliamentary information. The Library has access to the following: Justine, JustCite, UK Statutes, UK Statutory Instruments, The England and Wales Judgements, The State Trials, and Session Case Archives.
Trial
Sourced from the archive of The Worshipful Company of Stationers & Newspaper Makers, located at Stationers’ Hall in the City of London, this resource allows access to a vast and unique collection of primary source documents.
Trial
Maclean’s Magazine Archive, 1905-2015, the leading Canadian news and general interest magazine, provides a unique perspective on both national and international affairs. Topics include investigative reporting, opinion and analysis on politics, economy and business, science and technology, society, arts and culture, education and work.
New
A fully-searchable e-reference book library of current IT books. These books include certification prep materials, code snippets, practice exercises, training videos, and more. Core content is provided from Pearson Education and O'Reilly Media Inc., two of the world's largest technology publishers, though titles from over 100 publishers are available.

Access Note: Patrons will need to use a valid academic email address (usask.ca) to login, to which address a confirmation email to complete setup will prompt a password creation. An account allows access to the QUEUE app for off-line viewing.
Trial
Comprised of 115 hours and 550 videos, this collection offers a practical view into a full range of teaching settings and situations, from early years to educational leadership to support students needing to understand theory or how to apply it in practice.The collection includes observational classroom footage, and teachers, principals and other education practitioners demonstrating and discuss key methods. Completing the collection are editorially selected documentaries from BBC Worldwide and the award-winning Siren Films.
Trial
Features prompt books from the world-famous collection at the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington DC. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.
New
Access Note: You can create an account on Techstreet, which will allow you to save standards as favourites and suggest new ones that the Library should purchase.

A subscription-based platform, launched in 2012, for access to selected international, national, state and local industry codes and standards available from Techstreet. Techstreet standards cover these fields and more: Boiler, Construction, Electronics, Energy, Petrochemical, Food, Medical, Telecommunications, Water, Welding. Access to historical and redline documents is included.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...