GIS library services: Saskatchewan

SK GIS Resources

FlySask2.ca
https://www.flysask2.ca/
Provides access to the Saskatchewan Geospatial Imagery Collaborative's (SGIC) satellite and airphoto imagery. SGIC is a partnership of organizations sharing knowledge and costs relating to acquisition and use of satellite and aerial imagery for mutual and public benefit.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Topographic and Base Maps

Saskatchewan Township Fabric Map, this dataset accurately integrates key datasets (surveyed base data from the southern Township Fabric Map and theoretical northern data) into a standardized provincial grid for land parcel identification and location. The complete dataset includes township shape file, section shape file, quarter section shape file, legal subdivision shape file, monument shape file and Monument ASCII file. Contact Data & GIS Library Services for access.

Thematic Data

City of Saskatoon - iMap: Online map of the city of Saskatoon with layers including schools, aerial photos, traffic volume, neighbourhoods and more. Note: requires Silverlight browser plug-in to view.
City of Saskatoon GIS Data - from the city of Saskatoon: Neighbourhood boundaries, postal code polygons, 2010 Bus Route map, Corporate limits, Park boundaries, roadways and schools. Also includes Floodway map, DA areas/population and more data related to Saskatoon.
CommunityView Collaboration : Provides information on the community of Saskatoon. Includes online maps of health, demographic and other topics.
Detailed Soil Survey Compilations shapefile from Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada available here.
Health Region Boundary Files for Saskatchewan: 1999, 2003, 2006 2011 and 2015 files available online.
Health Facility Locations Saskatchewan (2011) - locations of health facilities from the Ministry of Health. Also available in kmz ( for Google Earth).
Postal codes matched with neighbourhood files (DMTI data from 2006): This file merges DMTI platinum postal suite with DMTI neighbourhood files for the cities of Prince Albert, Regina and Saskatoon.
Saskatchewan Geological Survey - access to maps, data, oil and gas info map, and digital well log database; includes Saskatchewan Mineral Assessment Database, Saskatchewan Mineral Deposit Index, Kimberlite Indicator Minerals, Data File Series and the Geological Atlas of Saskatchewan.
Saskatchewan Mining & Petroleum GeoATLAS: Online mapping of Geology of Saskatchewan.
Watershed Files - South Saskatchewan River Basin shp file, Watersheds of Saskatchewan (from the Water Security Agency), and the PFRA Watersheds covering the Canadian Prairies.

Satellite Imagery

Pictometry: access current high resolution imagery of the larger urban areas of Saskatchewan. Pictometry ConnectExplorer is a secure, web-based solution that combines high resolution aerial imagery with customer GIS data. Users can upload, view, and analyze their GIS data against the backdrop of the highest quality aerial imagery in the world. CONTACT GIS library staff for login/password. PDF help file.

Other

SAMA View: You can search for property assessment information in any municipality where assessment services are provided by Saskatchewan Assessment Management Agency.
Saskatchewan Maps Online - government of Saskatchewan offers interactive maps with several layers. Note: this is the HTML5 version; there's also one that uses Silverlight.
myRM: Saskatchewan Rural Municipality Information - find information about specific RMs. Select by RM name or number.