Geology: Special Collections in Geology

The Science Library houses two special collections in geology: the Holter Geotechnical Report Collection and the Sullivan Palynology Reprint Collection. Both collections are located in filing cabinets on the ground floor of the library (near the current serials and reference collection) and may be used in library only. If you wish to sign out an item from these collections please speak with a library staff member during the day (8:30am-4:30pm).

The contents of both collections are listed in the Finding Aids posted below, you may search these pdfs by hitting Ctrl/Cmd and F then typing your key words in the search box. Print copies of these Finding Aids are also located in binders on the filing cabinets.

Holter Geotechnical Report Collection

Milton Holter generously donated this collection of more than 100 reports to the Natural Sciences Library in 2011/2012. Mr Holter completed degrees in Geological Engineering (BSc) and Geology (MSc) at the University of Saskatchewan before embarking on a long career of consulting on various projects related to western Canadian mineral resources. The reports in this collection include landmark assessments of potash deposits in Saskatchewan. It is Mr Holter’s expressed wish that these reports contribute to student learning at his alma mater.

Holter Geotechnical Report Collection Finding Aid [PDF]

Sullivan Palynology Reprint Collection

Dr Herbert James Sullivan was a palynology (fossil pollen) researcher with a career that spanned several decades and three countries. He began his research at the University of Sheffield in England in the 1950s, before moving to the Pan American Petroleum Corporation in Tulsa, Oklahoma in the mid-1960s, and finally to Amoco Canada Petroleum Company in Calgary, Alberta. Dr Sullivan was a  colleague of Dr William A. S. Sarjeant, a past head of the Department of Geological Sciences and fellow palynology researcher. Dr Sullivan donated his collection of palynology reprints to the Natural Sciences Library in 1987.

In an effort to make this collection more accessible to our clients a project was undertaken by library staff in 2011/2012 to create a searchable Finding Aid documenting the contents of this collection (see below). And in order to conserve valuable space in the library, duplicate copies of items already accessible in our library collections were removed from the Sullivan Collection. The existence of these removed items is documented in the Finding Aid under the “Discard List” with links to the catalogue records or online versions of these documents.

Sullivan Palynology Report Collection Finding Aid [PDF]