Library Researcher Series: Indigenous History Resources

Session Description: Indigenous History Resources

This session will focus on some of the library’s most recently acquired and largest collections relating to the history of Indigenous peoples. We will explore both archival and published resources along with some of the most effective search techniques for locating what you need for your research.

Indigenous Studies Literature Resources

Informit Indigenous Collection 1977 - current

A collection of current journals, monographs, conference proceedings and reports. Material comes from Australia and New Zealand as well as from Indonesia, Malaysia, North America and the Pacific.

When you click on the link for Informit, you will be taken to two database options. Please note that only the Indigenous Collection database content is available to U of S users; this is the content included in our subscription.  The Humanities and Social Sciences Collection database available through Informit is only available as an Index, which means that access to articles, etc. is only available for a fee by individual users.

For free content to U of S users, check off the Indigenous Collection database only when you start your search. [details]

Academic Search Complete (ASC) 1887 - present
More than 8000 journals on a broad range of subject areas. Includes many entries related to Native Studies. [details]
 
America: History & Life with Full Text (AHL) 1964 - present; selected titles include retrospective coverage back to v. 1, issue 1.
History, anthropology and culture of the United States and Canada from pre-contact to the present. Excellent database for academic resources [details]
 
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) 16th C. - present
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of native culture, history and life in North America, Greenland, and eastern Siberia, including: archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. [details]
 
iPortal Indigenous Studies Portal
Online full text resources for indigenous studies in all the disciplines, including articles, books, book reviews, websites, archival materials, and theses and dissertations.

Archival Resources

Material relating to First Nations, Metis, and Inuit peoples, found in Saskatchewan cultural and heritage collections. Includes all transcriptions from the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples, 1996.
 
Aboriginal Archival Material Database Resources for Aboriginal Studies
 
Glenbow Library and Archives
Excellent library and archival resources on the western Canadian prairies, in particular
 
Hudson's Bay Company Archives 1670 to Present
Excellent resource for information on the human and natural history of western and northern Canada and the western USA.
 
Metis National Council Historical Online Database
A database of high-resolution, digitized archival documents, photographs, and other resources, primarily from Library and Archives Canada. Intended for community members and academics who work toward constructing genealogies of the Metis people. Use the "Search" tab to locate documents by family name, date, and location or to browse them alphabetically or by date range.
 
SAIN Saskatchewan Archival Information Network coverage varies
A database of descriptions of archival material held in Saskatchewan archives.
 
Government of Canada
 
ArchiviaNET Online Research Tool Current
An excellent resource from the National Archives of Canada for government information about Aboriginal people and related issues [details]
 
Indian Affairs Annual Reports, 1864-1990 = Rapports annuels des Affaires indiennes 1864-1990 1864-1990
Collection of the annual reports created by the various Government of Canada departments responsible for the portfolio of Indian Affairs from 1864 to 1990. The Schedules of Indian Bands, Reserves and Settlements 1902-1992 is also included. [details]
 
Indian Reserves - Western Canada ArchiviaNet
Includes database which provides item-level descriptions on approximately 1,500 maps, with approximately 1,200 digitized items, now in the public domain
 
Metis Scrip Records Varies
Searchable database of over 15,000 images of selected parts of original scrip (Record Group 15) documents from the Government of Canada. Provides access to the affidavits and applications only. [details]
 
RG 10/15 Search File and Item Descriptions
Search Record Group 10 (Dep't of Indian Affairs) and Record Group 15 (Dep't of the Interior, includes Metis Scrip) record descriptions from Library and Archives Canada

RG 10 & RG 15 Microfilm Holdings at the U of S Library 

Session Information

This session took place on Nov 27 in the Murray Library, Collaborative Learning Lab from 12:00 - 1:00 PM.

History Librarians

Liaison Librarian: David Smith
Location: Murray
Room: 122.5 Murray
Phone: 966-7208
Email: David.Smith@usask.ca

Liaison Librarian: Donna Canevari de Paredes
Location: Murray
Room: 122.16 Murray
Phone: 966-5970
Email: Donna.Canevari@usask.ca

Native Studies Librarian

Liaison Librarian: David Smith
Location: Murray
Room: 122.5 Murray
Phone: 966-7208
Email: David.Smith@usask.ca