Biology: E-Reference
Specialized Resources
- BioCycThe BioCyc web portal from SRI International contains genome and metabolic-pathway information for over 10,000 microbes. BioCyc encyclopedias are unique in integrating a diverse range of data and providing a high level of curation for important microbes. BioCyc curators summarize and synthesize information from thousands of publications, saving scientists time in literature research, and integrating data for large-scale computational analyses.
BioCyc Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDB) describe the genome of an organism, as well as its biochemical pathways and (for a small fraction of organisms) its regulatory network. New releases occur three times per year, often including new databases as well as updated data. Two members of the BioCyc collection, the EcoCyc and MetaCyc databases, are derived from more than three decades of literature-based curation of genome and pathway data. The HumanCyc database provides a curated collection of many human metabolic pathways and enzymes. - TAIRThe Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) maintains a database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana. Data available from TAIR includes the complete genome sequence along with gene structure, gene product information, gene expression, DNA and seed stocks, genome maps, genetic and physical markers, publications, and information about the Arabidopsis research community.
Key E-Reference Books for Biology
eLS (Encyclopedia of Life Sciences)ISBN: 9780470061411
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity by
The 7-volume Encyclopedia of Biodiversity, Second Edition maintains the reputation of the highly regarded original, presenting the most current information available in this globally crucial area of research and study. It brings together the dimensions of biodiversity and examines both the services it provides and the measures to protect it. Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity. The science of biodiversity has become the science of our future. It is an interdisciplinary field spanning areas of both physical and life sciences. Our awareness of the loss of biodiversity has brought a long overdue appreciation of the magnitude of this loss and a determination to develop the tools to protect our future. Second edition includes over 100 new articles and 226 updated articles covering this multidisciplinary field-- from evolution to habits to economics, in 7 volumes The editors of this edition are all well respected, instantly recognizable academics operating at the top of their respective fields in biodiversity research; readers can be assured that they are reading material that has been meticulously checked and reviewed by experts Approximately 1,800 figures and 350 tables complement the text, and more than 3,000 glossary entries explain key terms
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780123847201Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Evolutionary Biology by
Encyclopedia of Evolutionary Biology, Four Volume Set is the definitive go-to reference in the field of evolutionary biology. It provides a fully comprehensive review of the field in an easy to search structure. Under the collective leadership of fifteen distinguished section editors, it is comprised of articles written by leading experts in the field, providing a full review of the current status of each topic. The articles are up-to-date and fully illustrated with in-text references that allow readers to easily access primary literature. While all entries are authoritative and valuable to those with advanced understanding of evolutionary biology, they are also intended to be accessible to both advanced undergraduate and graduate students. Broad topics include the history of evolutionary biology, population genetics, quantitative genetics; speciation, life history evolution, evolution of sex and mating systems, evolutionary biogeography, evolutionary developmental biology, molecular and genome evolution, coevolution, phylogenetic methods, microbial evolution, diversification of plants and fungi, diversification of animals, and applied evolution. Presents fully comprehensive content, allowing easy access to fundamental information and links to primary research Contains concise articles by leading experts in the field that ensures current coverage of each topic Provides ancillary learning tools like tables, illustrations, and multimedia features to assist with the comprehension process
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780128004265Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia of Life
Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is a free online reference source of all life on Earth. EOL began in 2007 with the bold idea to provide "a webpage for every species."
- 2007 TED Prize speechSee Dr. Edward O. Wilson's 2007 TED Prize speech - the catalyst for the creation of EOL.
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Birds of North America Online
- Birds of the World OnlineBirds of The World contain 10,721 species accounts from every bird species in the world and is an entirely new scientific publication that merges and enhances content, data, multimedia, figures, and illustrations from four different ornithological volumes: Birds of North America (BNA), Neotropical Birds, Handbook of Birds of the World (HBW Alive), and Bird Families of the World.
Access Note: Check the FAQ section for minimum system requirements to play video and sound files.