Public Health: Aboriginal Health
Search the Libary Catalogue
Key Resources
Books
Aboriginal Health in Canada by Call Number: RA449 .W35 2006Publication Date: 2006Available as an eBook: too!
Journals
- International Journal of Indigenous HealthPublished by NAHO, this peer-reviewed journal offers research articles, critical reviews, and editorials focusing on Aboriginal Health
- Pimatisiwin - A Journal of Aboriginal and Indigenous Community Health:Published by the Native Counselling Services of Alberta this journal offers peer-reviewed articles on a wide range of topics related to indigenous health
Databases
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North AmericaLimit to results related to 'Health' for more relevant results.
- I-Portal: HealthUSask's Indigenous Studies Portal offers a single point of access to Indigenous resources. Select "Health & Well-Being" for more relevant material. I-Portal includes books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps, etc.
- Native Health DatabaseA US based database that includes articles, reports, surveys, and other material related to health and medical issues of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Searchable by group, geographic region, and material type.
- Circumpolar Health Bibliographic DatabaseLinks to over 4500 resources related to circumpolar health. Much of the material is not available via PubMed.
Reports
- Romanow Report - Building on values: The future of health care in Canada:Refer to Chapter 10 - A New Approach to Aboriginal Health - for information on health disparities facing Aboriginals in Canada, and what attempts are being made to address these issues.
Organizations
- National Collaborating Centre for Aboriginal HealthFunded by the Public Health Agency of Canada, NCCAH is focused on knowledge translation and sharing between agencies and individuals involved in Aboriginal health. Includes an extensive resource section with reports, speeches, and multimedia.
- First Nations, Inuit and Aboriginal HealthHealth Canada's branch devoted to the health of First Nations peoples. Includes information on programs, statistics, funding and more.
- Indian Health Services Public Health ProfessionsResponsible for providing medical and public health services to over 1.8 million American Indians and Alaska Natives.