Copyright at the University Library: Reserves

Reserve Collections

The reserve collection consists of original materials from the University Library's collections such as:

  • books and journals
  • DVDs, CDs
  • maps and other formats

  and original works authored by faculty including:

  • lab manuals
  • course notes

At the end of each term, statistics on the use of Reserve materials, by course, are sent to the instructor.  Branch libraries have different usage criteria for removing low use items from Reserve for the next term.

For basic information about the Library's Reserve Collection, review the Information & Policy web page.

Print Resources on Reserve

Print copies of book chapters or journal articles may be placed on reserve subject to Fair Dealing Guidelines.

Under fair dealing, instructors, professors, and staff members in non-profit educational institutions may communicate and reproduce, in paper or electronic form, short excerpts from a copyright-protected work for the purposes of research, private study, criticism, review, news reporting, education, satire, and parody. Copying or communicating short excerpts from a copyright protected work under these Fair Dealing Guidelines for the purpose of news reporting, criticism, or review should mention the source and, if given in the source, the name of the author or creator of the work. Copying or communicating multiple short excerpts from the same copyright-protected work with the intention of copying or communicating substantially the entire work is prohibited. Copying or communicating that exceeds these limits may be referred to the Copyright Office for evaluation.

A single copy of a short excerpt from a copyright-protected work may be provided or communicated to each student
enrolled in a class or course
a. as a class handout;
b. as a posting to a learning or course-management system that is password protected or otherwise restricted to students of
a school or postsecondary educational institution, e.g. Blackboard;
c. as part of a course pack.

A short excerpt means:
a. up to 10 per cent of a copyright-protected work (including a literary work, musical score, sound recording, and an audiovisual work);
b. one chapter from a book;
c. a single article from a periodical;
d. an entire artistic work (including a painting, print, photograph, diagram, drawing, map, chart, and plan) from a copyright-protected work containing other artistic works;
e. an entire newspaper article or page;
f. an entire single poem or musical score from a copyright protected work containing other poems or musical scores;
g. an entire entry from an encyclopedia, annotated bibliography, dictionary, or similar reference work.

Reserves - Print & Electronic

For information about copyright at it applies to reserve material (print & electronic), please review  the Fair Dealing Guidelines.

Copyright matters! some key questions & answers for teachers, 3rd ed. is a "booklet gives teachers user-friendly information on copyright law, covering items from the Canadian Copyright Act and its regulations, contractual and tariff arrangements with copyright collectives, and court decisions."

Contact Us

For basic information about the Library's Reserve Collection, review the Information & Policy web page.

Do you have a question about reserves?  Contact the Reserve Supervisor in your branch library.

If you would have questions or concerns about copyright, please contact the liaison librarian assigned to your college/division/school, or the University's Copyright Coordinator 

To arrange for a customized copyright presentation contact the Copyright Office

Electronic Resources on Reserve

Electronic resources appear in reserve collections as persistent links, but not as electronic copies. Links to electronic resources may appear in the University Library's courses pages, PAWS courses pages, or on Blackboard, if the license for the e-resource allows.  For help finding license information, consult the Licensed Resources tab of this copyright LibGuide. 

Instruction for making persistent links is found at the Direct/Persistent Linking tab of this copyright LibGuide.

Your liaison librarian can help you create a course research guide with links to online library resources.