Finding Dictionaries and Encyclopedias: Other dictionaries
What are 'other' dictionaries?
The Oxford English Dictionary describes a dictionary as, "A book which explains or translates, usually in alphabetical order, the words of a language or languages (or of a particular category of vocabulary), giving for each word its typical spelling, an explanation of its meaning or meanings, and often other information, such as pronunciation, etymology, synonyms, equivalents in other languages, and illustrative examples."
On this page, we're looking at its secondary meaning: "In extended use: a book of information or reference on any subject in which the entries are arranged alphabetically; an alphabetical encyclopedia."
"dictionary, n. and adj." OED Online, Oxford University Press, March 2018, www.oed.com/view/Entry/52325. Accessed 25 May 2018.
Print dictionary examples
Online dictionary examples
Acronyms, Initialisms and Abbreviations Dictionary
Publication Date: 2012
The Brill Dictionary of ReligionPublication Date: 2017
Dictionary of American Family NamesPublication Date: 2003
Dictionary of Flavors by Publication Date: 2017
The Dictionary of the Book by Publication Date: 2016
- Oxford Music Online (OMO)Gateway to Oxford music reference works, including Grove Music Online. It permits access and cross-searching in one location. Also includes external links in search results to the Oxford Dictionary of National Bibliography and external links to ArtSTOR images, and RILM Abstracts of Music Literature citations.