Indigenous Studies: Find Articles

Databases

Academic Search Complete (ASC)
More than 8000 journals on a broad range of subject areas. Includes many entries related to Native Studies.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
America: History & Life with Full Text (AHL)
History, anthropology and culture of the United States and Canada from pre-contact to the present. Excellent database for academic resources.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America
(Formerly American Indian Newspapers) Indigenous Newspapers in North America aims to present a diverse and robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. Representing a large range in style, production, and audience, the 45 unique newspaper titles include national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications. In addition to English language publishing, the collection contains bilingual and Indigenous language editions, including Cherokee, Lakota, and Chinook.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of native culture, history and life in North America, Greenland, and eastern Siberia, including: archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Informit Indigenous Collection
A collection of current journals, monographs, conference proceedings and reports. Material comes from Australia and New Zealand as well as from other Pacific Rim countries such as Indonesia, Malaysia, and North America. There is also some content from African journals.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

I-Portal - Indigenous Studies Portal
Online full text resources for Indigenous studies in all the disciplines, including articles, books, book reviews, websites, archival materials, and theses and dissertations.

More Databases

eHRAF World Cultures
A cross-cultural database containing information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. eHRAF databases are unique in their ability to search full-texts using subjects to find relevant paragraphs. A subject code search can be even more successful than a keyword search. For subject code searching and other information, consult the eHRAF help files.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Gale Academic OneFile Select (GAOFS)
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this full text database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
JSTOR
Fulltext archive of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences, as well as 19th century British pamphlets. A unique e-journal database of complete backfiles of core scholarly journals in the arts and sciences. Current issues of the e-journal may be available direct from the publisher or through another e-journal aggregator such as Project MUSE. JSTOR and Project MUSE have enabled reciprocal linking for titles held in common so that users may access both current and archive holdings.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Native Health Databases - 1652 to Present
Bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian Aboriginal people.

North American Indian Thought and Culture
A collection of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America. With over 119,000 pages of content, including biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Climate Science
Climate is a global phenomenon that impacts every human being on Earth. This online encyclopedia features full-length, regularly updated articles by climate scientists from all over the world that help bridge the divide between the sciences and social sciences.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Environmental Science
This online encyclopedia's major collection of full-length articles provides a kind of foundation for what is known and globally agreed upon in the field of environmental science. Substantive, peer reviewed, and regularly updated, the ORE focuses on how research relates to the world’s actual needs on the ground.

Project MUSE
Access to the full text of high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers. MUSE is also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.The complete content of each and every journal issue is online, including all charts, graphics and images. There are no embargoes on journal content in MUSE the MUSE issue typically appears online before the print version is mailed.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Web of Science Core Collection
See specifically the Arts & Humanities Citation Index® (A&HCI) (1975-present) -- Nearly 1,395 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals. Also covers individually selected, relevant items from approximately 6,000 of the world's leading science and social sciences journals.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Newspapers and Periodicals

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)
Abstract and indexing database covering more than 1,665 scholarly journal articles, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers, news services and magazines, including 600 full text titles, covering current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information produced in Canada.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Gale OneFile CPI.Q
A full text database of articles from Canadian and International journals, magazines and reference content from Gale, all with a Canadian focus.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Saskatchewan News Index
Index to articles in selected Saskatchewan newspapers from 1884-2000 (coverage of the period is not complete), compiled by a group of Saskatchewan cultural institutions. Coverage is limited to stories about Saskatchewan rather than national or international stories.