Material relating to First Nations, Metis, and Inuit peoples, found in Saskatchewan cultural and heritage collections. Includes all transcriptions from the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples, 1996.
The database of the archival documents of the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation (NCTR) in Winnipeg features an interactive map of residential schools, and National Events and Hearings of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) of Canada on the homepage. The actual database includes more than 40,000 related documents, such as residential school histories, administration records, photos, maps, school newsletters and yearbooks, architectural plans and drawings, religious records from Church organizations of Canada, audio-visual footage from the TRC public events, and TRC Reports and publications, all with a goal of fostering reconciliation and healing. Records will be added to the database on an ongoing basis.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users.This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
A collection of Library and Archives Canada research tools, covering a broad spectrum of archival content, including Aboriginal peoples, census, patents, Government of Canada files, passenger lists, immigration records, photographs, postal archives, world war records, etc.
Collection of the annual reports created by the various Government of Canada departments responsible for the portfolio of Indian Affairs from 1864 to 1990. The Schedules of Indian Bands, Reserves and Settlements 1902-1992 is also included.