History: North America: Images

General

Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective
Search across both Art Full Text (AFT) and Art Index Retrospective (AIR) bibliographic databases in a single search. AFT & AIR index articles, art reproductions, and provide article abstracts for periodicals and art dissertations, including peer-reviewed journals.
Access Note: To search AFT or AIR separately, or cross-search other EBSCOhost interface databases such as: Art Museum Image Gallery, select Choose Databases from the EBSCOhost interface search screen and revise your database choices.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ARTstor
A non-profit repository of digital images and associated catalog data from contributing museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
There are 3 levels of access to ARTstor:
Unregistered (Walk-in) users: No registration is required. Able to search, browse, and analyze images and data.
Registered users: ARTstor allows registered users to, save Image Groups, add personal notes to images, and download the Offline Image Viewer. You must register with an email address to access these services. Once registered, you can log in to your account to access these services.
Instructor-Level users This is currently restricted to faculty and staff.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Oxford Art Online: OAO
Gateway to Oxford art reference works. It permits access and cross-searching in one location. The Library has licenses to the following works: The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Michael Clarke and Deborah Clarke, 2001 edition, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Edited by Michael Kelly, 1998 edition, The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Edited by Hugh Brigstocke 2001 edition, Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Advisory editor Stephen J. Bury, based on 2006 edition. Cross-searchable with Grove Art Online.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Virtual Museum of Canada
Explore Canada's rich history and culture in the Virtual Museum of Canada (VMC). You will find virtual exhibits and interactive learning resources on numerous subjects, created by Canadian museums and galleries.

U Sask and Local Collections

Our Legacy
Along with textual resources this database includes photographs and images related to First Nations, Metis, and Inuit peoples, found in Saskatchewan cultural and heritage collections.
Postcard Views of the Qu'Appelle Valley; USask Library
Postcard Views of Indigenous Peoples: USask Library
Postcard Views of Southeast Saskatchewan: USask Library
University of Saskatchewan Archives Photograph Database