Anthropology: Other Suggestions

A digital archive of primary source material exploring the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge. Includes manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and other formats.

A collection of current journals, monographs, conference proceedings and reports from Australia, New Zealand, Indonesia, Malaysia, North America and the Pacific. It covers topical and historical issues re Indigenous studies and subjects such as anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law and land rights, literature, politics and policy making, colonial studies, race studies, sociology, visual and performing arts.

A cross-cultural database containing information on the world's prehistory and organized by archaeological traditions. The full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. It is a unique resource designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies. A subject code search can be even more successful than a keyword search. For subject code searching and other information, consult the eHRAF help files and the OCM (Outline of Cultural Materials) subject codes.

Colonial America features all 1,450 files of the CO 5 class at The National Archives, UK. Made up of letters, charters and commissions, instructions to officials, military documents (including war diaries), newspapers, printed pamphlets, public notices, maps and many other material types, the documents shed light on all aspects of life in colonial America. Module 1: Early Settlement, Expansion and Rivalries documents the early history of the colonies including founding charters, 1688s Glorious Revolution, and military material from the French and Indian War of 1756-63. Module 2: Towards Revolution focuses on the 1760s and 1770s and the social and political protest that led to the Declaration of Independence, legal materials covering the aftermath of the Boston Tea Party, and material relating to military affairs and Native Americans. Module 3: The American Revolution charts the upheavals of the 1770s and 1780s which saw the throwing off of British rule in the Thirteen Colonies. Module 4: "Legislation and Politics in the Colonies" traces the legal and political evolution of the colonies from 1636-1782. Module 5 'Growth, Trade and Development', the preponderant part of which consists of correspondence with the Board of Trade.

A digitized collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies, sourced from libraries and archives around the world. It covers: cultural contact, empire writing and literature of empire, the visible empire, religion and empire, race, class & colonialism worldwide. It has five thematic sections: Section I: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Section II: Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; Section III: The Visible Empire; Section IV: Religion and Empire; Section V: Race, Class and Colonialism, 1607-2007. Empire Online is cross-searchable with Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange.

Index of scholarly journals covering multidisciplinary subjects, including: agriculture, anthropology, business, economics, education, fine arts, geography, history, language, law, library science, literature, medicine, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, social sciences, and technology.

CBCA subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference) cover current events, culture, business, education, history, language, government etc. Sources include scholarly journals, magazines, dissertations, books, newspapers, news services and magazines.

Formerly CBCA Complete: Canadian Business & Current Affairs.

Note: For Newspaper text see Canadian Newsstream-Major Dailies or Proquest databases option to add it to CBCA.

Includes descriptions of archival collections owned by libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives worldwide (primarily located in North America).