Pharmacy: Popular Course Resources
Resources Used in Course Assignments
- Bugs & Drugs : an Antimicrobial/Infectious Diseases Reference byCall Number: RM267.B59 2012 On 2 Hour Reserve at Health Sciences LibraryISBN: 9780991676903Publication Date: 2012
- Canadian Immunization GuideThe Guide is a comprehensive resource on immunization for health professionals, vaccine program decision-makers and other Canadian stakeholders with an interest in immunization.
- Centers for Disease Control and PreventionPrepare travellers to Canada with recommendations for vaccines and medications.
Drug Interactions Analysis and Management 2014 by Call Number: RM302 .H365 2014 On 2 Hour Reserve in the Health Sciences LibraryISBN: 9781574393644Publication Date: 2014-03-28PRINT ONLY. Assists in the prevention and management of drug interactions. Emphasizing management options for improved patient outcomes, the text also and includes recommendations for alternative medications (as appropriate).
Drug Product Database - see Health Canada Drug Product Database
Handbook of Drug Administration Via Enteral Feeding Tubes by Call Number: RS210 .W45 2011ebPublication Date: 2nd ed.Supports in the safe and effective prescribing and administration of drugs via enteral feeding tubes.- Geri-RxFiles: Assessing Medications in Older AdultsCall Number: RC953.5 .B374 2014 On 2 Hour Reserve in Health Sciences LibraryISBN: 9780986677731Publication Date: 2014PRINT ONLY. RxFiles is an academic detailing program providing objective, comparative drug information to clinicians for older adults.
- Handbook on Injectable DrugsCall Number: RM143 .T757 2013ebPublication Date: 18th ed., 2015Provides peer-reviewed information on the compatibility, stability, storage and preparation of parenteral drugs.
- Health Canada Drug Product DatabaseThe DPD contains product specific information on drugs approved for use in Canada.
- LactMedLactMed contains over 450 drug records. It includes information such as maternal levels in breast milk, infant levels in blood, potential effects in breastfeeding infants and on lactation itself, the American Academy of Pediatrics category indicating the level of compatibility of the drug with breastfeeding, and alternate drugs to consider.
- UpToDate LexidrugA full-text collection of drug information databases, corresponding to the drug information handbooks in Lexicomp's Clinical Reference Library. Includes the Lexicomp Natural Products Database.
- UpToDate LexidrugAHFS Drug Information is available as part of Lexicomp Online . To access, open Lexicomp, and click on "Drugs" as the General Category, then select AHFS.
Medications and Mothers' Milk by Call Number: RJ216 .H32 2014 On 2 Hour Reserve in the Health Sciences Library.ISBN: 1939847389Publication Date: 16th ed.PRINT ONLY. Information on using medications in breastfeeding mothers.
- Merck Index"The Merck Index Online is a searchable full-text database containing over 11,500 monographs providing authoritative and reliable information on chemicals, drugs, and biologicals."
- Natural MedicinesAn evidence-based resource providing a comprehensive listing of natural medicine brand name product ingredients and encyclopedic entries with extensive references.
- Natural Product Updates: NPU OnlineProvides graphical abstracts of new developments in natural product chemistry, selected from primary chemistry journals.
- PubChemAn open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, etc.
We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
Remington by Call Number: RS91 .R38 HSL ReserveISBN: 9780857110626Publication Date: 2012-09-03The online version is no longer available. Print only.
- RxFiles: Objective Comparisons for Optimal Drug TherapyAcademic service providing objective, comparative drug information to physicians, pharmacists and allied health professionals. It includes newsletter reviews, Q&As, trial summaries, and up-to-date drug comparison charts. A print copy is available on Reserve at the Health Sciences Library.
- CPS (formerly RxTx)A reference tool integrating "content from CPhA’S Therapeutic Choices and e-CPS.
- Saskatchewan Online Formulary DatabaseThe Saskatchewan Formulary lists the drugs, which are covered by the Drug Plan.
Martindale by ISBN: 0853695504Contains detailed information including monographs on 5,300 drugs; 10,000 preparations; 37,500 references; synopses of disease treatments; 200 monographs and 5,000 preparations relating to herbal medicines; as well as a directory of manufacturers.
- Stockley's Drug Interactions (11th Ed)
A reference book on drug-drug, drug-food, and drug-herb interactions, covering therapeutic drugs, proprietary medicines, herbal medicines, foodstuffs, drinks, pesticides, and drugs of abuse.
Clinical Guidelines
- CMA Infobase: Clinical Practice GuidelinesThis Canadian Medical Association database provides access to nearly 2000 clinical practice guidelines produced or endorsed in Canada. It offers a number of search and browse capabilities, including a search by MeSH terms under the Basic Search option.