Skip to Main Content
Skip to main content

Music: Voice

General resources

Repertoire guides

Song Texts and Translations

Diction, Phonetics & IPA

Performance Practice

Vocal Health

Image source: University of Saskatchewan, University Archives & Special Collections, Photograph Collection, A-8646

This guide contains selected research tools for finding repertoire, recordings, and literature for singers. For further assistance with research in this area, please visit the information desk in the Education & Music Library.

Journals

Call numbers for browsing

Solo songs with piano

M 1619 Collections (songs by several composers) 
M 1620 Collections of songs by ONE composer 
M 1621 Single works by one composer 
M 1621.3 Single works with additional or obbligato instrument 
M 1621.4 Song cycles

Sacred songs with piano or organ

M 2110 Collections (more than one composer)
M 2112 Collections by a single composer
M 2113 Single works with additional or obbligato instrument
M 2113.4 Sacred song cycles

Dramatic music = arias from operas & musicals

M 1500 Full scores of operas (no musicals)
M 1503 Piano-vocal scores: operas & musicals
M 1505 Opera excerpts (full scores) Excerpts: musical theatre & opera:
M 1507 Anthologies: piano-vocal scores 
M 1508 Single titles: piano-vocal scores

Arias from cantatas and oratorios

M 1613 Full scores of secular cantatas
M 1614 Piano-vocal scores of secular cantatas
M 1617 Full scores, works for voice & orchestra
M 2000 Full scores of oratorios
M 2003 Piano-vocal scores of oratorios
M 2020 Full scores of sacred cantatas
M 2023 Piano-vocal scores of sacred cantatas

Literature

ML 54.6 Song texts and translations
ML 48-50 Libretto texts and translations
ML 1400-3275 History and criticism of vocal music 
MT 820-915 Singing and vocal technique 
MT 883 Diction, phonetics and IPA

 

The University of Saskatchewan's main campus is situated on Treaty 6 Territory and the Homeland of the Métis.

© University of Saskatchewan
Disclaimer|Privacy