Skip to main content

Clinical Medicine: Aboriginal Health

Aboriginal Health

Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) - an indegenous studies research tool that includes grey literature (e.g., Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development annual reports), archival materials (including images), and links to scholarly articles.  Topics include, but are not limited to, aboriginal healing, socioeconomic influences on health, effects of residential schools on health.  Browse the "health" category to learn more.

Native Health Database - "The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations." (excerpt from About the NHD, Native Health Database).

Prairie Women's Health Centre of Excellence - "dedicated to improving the health status of Canadian women by supporting policy-oriented and community-based research and analysis on the social and other determinants of women’s health."  This site includes reports on aboriginal women's health.

Aboriginal Healing Foundation (AHF) publications

 

Traditional Healing

(photo by born1945, flickr)

Report of the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples (RCAP) - See Volume 1, Chapter 15, Section 8 for information about ceremonies and symbols.

Native American Traditional Healing - a factsheet providing general information on traditional healing and the interaction with Western medicine.

The Native American Ethnobotany Database - A database of foods, drugs, dyes and fibers of Native American peoples, derived from plants. 

Terminology

The definition of Aboriginal Peoples of Canada according to the Canadian Consitution Act, 1982 (in Section 35) is:

"(2) In this Act, "aboriginal peoples of Canada" includes the Indian, Inuit and Métis peoples of Canada."

Aboriginal Health and Cultural Diversity Glossary - an online glossary of terms compiled by A. Kent-Wilkinson (assistant professor) & M. Tomtene (programmer analyst), University of Saskatchewan.

Conducting Research

Institute of Aboriginal People's Health (IAPH), CIHR - CIHR Guidelines for Health Research Involving Aboriginal People, Factsheets, Aboriginal Knowledge Translation