The official handbook of the Federal Government provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. Includes information and web addresses for quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates, and boards, commissions, and committees. The Manual begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution.
Published since 1878; current issue is in Murray Reference stacks. Older issues are available in the Government Publications stacks.
Note: The U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011. The Statistical Compendia program is comprised of the Statistical Abstract of the United States and its supplemental products—the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book and the County and City Data Book. To access the most current data, please refer to the organizations cited in the source notes for each table of the Statistical Abstract.
The CODOC (Cooperative Documents) call numbers are designed to organize government publications on the shelves by keeping all the material published by a single corporate author (i.e. government department or agency) together. Subjects which are similar may be under different call numbers because they come from different corporate authors. For example, a publication on Aboriginal health could be found under Indian Affairs (CA1 IA) or Health Canada (CA1 HE).
The Elements of CODOC Call Numbers
Each separate element follows in this order:
Country (ex: CA for Canada, US for United States, or UN for United Nations)
Level of government (1 = federal, 2 = provincial, 3 = county, 4 = city, etc…)
Province or state (ex: SA for Saskatchewan, AL for Alberta)
Corporate body / Department (ex: IA for Indian Affairs or BS for Statistics Canada)
Organization subdivision / branch of the department (a number)
Year of publication (If it is a single item)
Series number (If it is a series)
Title (A letter and numbers representing the title)
Usually the code used for a department is an acronym of its name (Indian Affairs = IA), but sometimes it does not appear to make sense. For example, CA1 BS represents Statistics Canada. This is because at one time it was known as the BureaU Sasktatistics. Since there are various series still being published that originate from that time, the old department code is still used.
How to Read a CODOC Number
CA1 IA :1988R23 would be broken down in the following way:
·CA1 identifies this as a Canadian federal document
·There is a space between the level of government code and the corporate body code, because there is no province in this case
·IA identifies the Department of Indian Affairs
·There is another space to show that there is no subdivision in this case
·1988 is the year of publication
·R23 is taken from the publication's title: "Response of the Government to the Report of the Special Committee on Indian Self-Government"
CA2SADA 108: D16
·CA2 identifies it as a Canadian provincial document
·SA is the province of Saskatchewan
·DA stands for the Department of Agriculture
·108 is the Animal Industry Branch within the Saskatchewan Department of Agriculture
·There is no year, because it is an ongoing series, so there is a space after the colon
·D16 is taken from the title: “Dairy Production Report”
Finding Items in the Stacks
Publications issued by a government department as a whole come before those issued by a branch within that department on the shelves. So CA1 FR :1998F51 (issued by the Canadian Forest Services) would be shelved before CA1 FR 101:1973R90 (issued by the Newfoundland Forest Research Centre – represented by the 101 – which is a branch of the Canadian Forest Services).
Works that are published on a continuing basis under the same title (serials) do not have a date of publication in the CODOC number and are shelved before single works that have a date of publication. So all of the issues of CA2SADA 185: A56 (Annual Report of the Saskatchewan Sheep and Wool Marketing Commission) come before CA2SADA 185:1977S36 (A single document put out by the same commission).
Full text online publications by United States Forest Service Research and Development scientists. Publications include research monographs published by the agency as well as papers written by US Forest Service scientists but published by other organizations in their journals, conference proceedings, or books. Research results have been peer reviewed.
From the U.S. Government Accountability Office. GAO's primary products are reports, often called "blue books," and testimony before Congress. GAO also issues correspondence (letters), which are narrower in scope, of more limited interest, and do not contain recommendations. With virtually the entire federal government subject to its review, the agency issues a steady stream of products, usually over 900 separate products a year. The agency operates under strict professional standards of review. All numbers and statements of fact presented in GAO work are thoroughly checked and referenced.
A bibliographic database covering agriculture and life sciences, primarily in English, but with some content in other languages. Includes citations for journal articles, theses, translations, monographs, proceedings, and technical reports. Content is updated monthly.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to walk-in users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Bibliographic database, including citations covering all types of United States government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.).
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.