Indigenous Studies, with all its interdisciplinarity, can be challenging in terms of library research. Come to a teaching session that will demo / unfold some techniques for searching library databases and archival finding aids.
A collection of current journals, monographs, conference proceedings and reports. Material comes from Australia and New Zealand as well as from Indonesia, Malaysia, North America and the Pacific.
When you click on the link for Informit, you will be taken to two database options. Please note that only the Indigenous Collection database content is available to U Sask users; this is the content included in our subscription. The Humanities and Social Sciences Collection database available through Informit is only available as an Index, which means that access to articles, etc. is only available for a fee by individual users.
For free content to U Sask users, check off the Indigenous Collection database only when you start your search. [details]
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of native culture, history and life in North America, Greenland, and eastern Siberia, including: archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. [details]
Material relating to First Nations, Metis, and Inuit peoples, found in Saskatchewan cultural and heritage collections. Includes all transcriptions from the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples, 1996.
Aboriginal Archival Material DatabaseResources for Aboriginal Studies
A database of high-resolution, digitized archival documents, photographs, and other resources, primarily from Library and Archives Canada. Intended for community members and academics who work toward constructing genealogies of the Metis people. Use the "Search" tab to locate documents by family name, date, and location or to browse them alphabetically or by date range.
SAINSaskatchewan Archival Information Networkcoverage varies
A database of descriptions of archival material held in Saskatchewan archives.
Collection of the annual reports created by the various Government of Canada departments responsible for the portfolio of Indian Affairs from 1864 to 1990. The Schedules of Indian Bands, Reserves and Settlements 1902-1992 is also included. [details]
Searchable database of over 15,000 images of selected parts of original scrip (Record Group 15) documents from the Government of Canada. Provides access to the affidavits and applications only. [details]