Linguistics: Encyclopedias

Linguistics Encyclopedias

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
Publication Date: 2nd ed., 2003
A reference work encompassing "the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics with special attention given to interrelations within these branches of the field and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines." Note: The library also has a print version of the first edition (1992) available. It is located in the Murray Library, 3rd floor, North Wing. The call number is P29 .I.58 1992.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
An online reference work covering philosophy and related disciplines, including language and linguistics.

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

The Blackwell encyclopedia of writing systems by Florian Coulmas
ISBN: 1118932668
Publication Date: Oxford, OX, UK : Cambridge, Mass., USA : Blackwell Publishers, [1999]
Online encyclopedia.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the World's Ancient Languages by R. Blair Woodard (Editor); Roger D. Woodard (Editor)
Call Number: P140 .C35 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Comprehensive reference work treating all of the languages of antiquity. It offers linguistic coverage of well documented ancient languages.

Semiotics Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia of Semiotics
Call Number: P99 .E64 1998
Publication Date: 1998
A comprehensive reference guide, compiled by Paul Bouissac, to "concepts in semiotics, sign theory, and cultural studies. Three hundred entries by leading scholars in a variety of fields—from anthropology and literary theory to linguistics and philosophy—survey the study of signs and symbols in human culture." Note: The library has both a print and an e-book version of this encyclopedia.

General Reference Resources

Facts about the World's Languages by Jane Garry (Editor); Carl Rubino (Editor); H. W. Wilson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2001
This product represents seven years of compilation from the work of nearly two hundred world-renowned scholars in linguistics. The volume explores the structure, history and culture of 191 languages worldwide, with the aim of providing both the general public and linguistics experts with an authoritative source of rich, structured data on the world's major ethnolinguistic groups.
Countries, peoples and their languages : the geolinguistic handbook by by Erik V. Gunnemark
Call Number: P371 .G86 1991
The World's major languages by edited by Bernard Comrie
Publication Date: Abingdon, Oxon, UK : Routledge, 2009
Online book

Oxford Reference Online (ORO)
The Premium collection of language and subject reference works published by the Oxford University Press. Search individual titles or across all titles.

License Information: Access is restricted to 5 simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online: Academic Edition
Comprehensive reference work including content from several resources: Encyclopaedia Britannica and Britannica Concise Encyclopedia articles as well as media, web sites, and videos. Magazines and journals are also available. Also includes dictionary and thesaurus as well as notable quotations from Merriam-Webster's Dictionary & Thesaurus.
Access Note: Mobile app with limited access available for iOS.

License Information: This is a Saskatchewan Multitype Library Database Licensing Project (MDLP) license. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.