Research Guides: School of Environment and Sustainability: Find Articles

Databases & Journal Collections

To find journal articles, you must consult databases.

Databases

contain information from published works
are searchable
provide either citation information or full-text articles
can be subject/topic specific or multidisciplinary

Visit the guide Finding Journal Articles for in-depth information on how to search a library database or contact your liaison librarian, Li Zhang, for assistance (li.zhang@usask.ca)

When you search the databases and get a list of results, click on the yellow Find It button to see if the library has access to the full text of the article. If you come across an article that the library doesn't have access to, you can obtain it through our Interlibrary Loan service. This service is free to faculty, students, and staff at the U Sask. Find the submission form here:

Interlibrary Loan

Search Strategy Builder

The Search Strategy Builder is a tool designed to teach you how to create a search string using Boolean logic. While it is not a database and is not designed to input a search, you should be able to cut and paste the results into the standard database search boxes.

Write out your research question or topic thesis as a sentence.

Concept 1

AND

Concept 2

AND

Concept 3

Extract the major concepts from your sentence above and enter them here.

List alternatives for each concept.

These can be synonyms, or they can be specific examples of the concept.

Use single words or short phrases.

Find additional terms in abstracts and summaries of the articles, books, and other sources you find during initial searches.

Search terms

or

or

or

or

Search Strategy Builder created by University of Arizona Libraries and is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

Web of Science Core Collection
Collection of citation databases, providing abstracts and indexing and cited reference searching to over 10,000 high impact scholarly research journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings, and covering topics in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Scopus
One of the largest multidisciplinary databases of peer-reviewed literature, it indexes scientific journals, books and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
GreenFILE
This free research database provides scholarly, government and general-interest sources covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts.
The database provides indexing and abstracts as well as Open Access full text for some records. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

JSTOR Sustainability
A wide range of journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of sustainability. The subjects of resilience and sustainability are explored broadly, covering research on environmental stresses and their impact on society.

Academic Search Complete (ASC)
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database indexing journals, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals. Abstracts and indexes are also included for monographs, conference proceedings, and reports.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

AGRICOLA
A bibliographic database covering agriculture and life sciences, primarily in English, but with some content in other languages. Includes citations for journal articles, theses, translations, monographs, proceedings, and technical reports. Content is updated monthly.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Birds of the World
A research platform containing species accounts from every bird species in the world. Scientific publication that merges and enhances content, data, multimedia, figures, and illustrations from a variety of ornithological volumes.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
BioOne Journals
A collection of high-impact, peer-reviewed, scholarly journals and bulletins from small societies and non-commercial publishers covering the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences, plus high quality open access journals.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
CABI: CAB Abstracts & CAB Abstracts Archive
Index and abstract database to agriculture, forestry, and biosciences literature, including: journals, books, conference proceedings, reports, and patents. Includes literature from over 140 countries in more than 40 languages. Part of the Web of Knowledge.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
GeoRef & GeoRef in Process
An abstract and indexing database, established by the American Geological Institute (AGI) offering comprehensive access to the geoscience literature of the world, including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. The geology of North America is covered back to 1669, and coverage for the rest of the world back to 1933.

GeoRef in Process is a supplement to GeoRef and contains unedited records that are still in the process of being indexed before being added to GeoRef.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

SciFinder is the most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. It is the online version of "Chemical Abstracts" produced by CAS - a division of the ACS. Always access SciFinder through the links on the library website to be properly authenticated. This database is only available to current faculty, staff, and students.

IMPORTANT: You must register for a personal account with SciFinder before you can access: online registration form. The email you register with must be your usask email.

SciFinder Training Materials

Sociological Abstracts
An abstracting and indexing bibliographic database for international literature in sociology, with content from journals, conference papers, and books. Major areas of coverage include radical sociology, substance abuse and addiction, economic development, and mass phenomena and political interactions.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Google Scholar
You can find the Library's full text holdings in Google Scholar. Just look for the "FindIt!" or "FullText" links on the right side of the screen, beside each search result.
Access Note: To enable "FindIt!" on your home computer: On the Google Scholar page navigate to "Settings" > "Library links" > Search for University of Saskatchewan > Ensure all two checkboxes are marked > Save.
This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet.

Annual Reviews & Backfile
A collection of review series in focused disciplines within Biomedical and Physical Sciences, and Economics.
Access Note: To receive Table of Contents automatically, you must first self-register and setup a username and password in a personal profile.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
BioOne Journals
A collection of high-impact, peer-reviewed, scholarly journals and bulletins from small societies and non-commercial publishers covering the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences, plus high quality open access journals.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Botanicus Free Journals
There are 25 titles available from Botanicus Free
Ecological Society of America Journals
There are 7 titles available from Ecological Society of America

Emerald & Emerald Backfile
Scholarly journal articles from EmeraldManagementXtra 120 (journals collection). Recently included in the collection are 25 Indigenous e-books. Subjects covered are business, library science, management, information science, engineering, and education.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Nature
Access to Springer Nature Publishing electronic journals and services publications that the Library subscribes to, including: Nature, Nature Archives, Nature Academic & Society Journals, Nature Chemistry,Nature Clinical Practice Journals, Nature Research Journals and Archive, Nature Reviews, and the news@nature.com service. Patrons can self-register to access additional services such as electronic alerts.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Canadian Science Publishing Journals
Collection of 15 electronic journals published by NRC Research Press (National Research Council Canada) and 11 journals from client publishers, covering biological and natural sciences topics.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ScienceDirect
Science Direct is a portal to scholarly journals, book series, and ebooks published by Elsevier and affiliated publishers primarily covering science, technology, and medicine and the social sciences.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users (at fixed computer terminals in the library), for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Springer Nature Link: Journals & Journal Archives
A collection of over 2,000 scholarly science, technology, and medicine electronic journals published by Springer (and the former Kluwer Academic Publishers). Includes journal archives back to volume 1, issue 1.
Access Note: to access titles the University of Saskatchewan Library has purchased access to, uncheck the box beside "Include Preview-Only content" at the top of the left menu column.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.