Skip to main content

University Archives and Special Collections: Published Works

Published Works

Adam Shortt Library of Canadiana

This is the largest collection in our holdings, and comprising the bulk of our holdings. This collection concentrates on Canadian history, especially that of Western Canada. Old and rare materials, including 18th and 19th century editions of explorers' and missionaries' accounts, make up part of the collection. Current publications of primary sources and significant monographs and collections are added on a monthly basis.

Becker Collection

Books, serials, and articles relating to German resettlement in Russia, Canada, and Saskatchewan, acquired from Dr. Anthony Becker. Includes genealogical source material with an emphasis on Catholic, Lutheran, Baptist, and Mennonite communities. Approx. 250 titles. Material is listed in this finding aid.

Canadiana Pamphlets Collection (including Postcard Collection)

10,000 items; includes written and pictorial material on Canadian political parties, labour, women, native people, Saskatchewan agriculture.The Pamphlets Collection houses well over 2,000 postcards that represent Saskatchewan and Western Canada in the early twentieth century. See the list in the catalogue.

Co-operative Studies Collection

Originally housed in the Centre for the Study of Co-Operatives Library, this specialized collection of approximately 6,000 items was transferred to UASC in 2014. It focuses on the topic of co-operatives from social, political, economic and historical points of view and consists of a variety of resources including student theses; copies of the Centre’s publications; serials; articles, newsletters, magazines, pamphlets, and short research articles related to co-operatives; audio visual materials; and books. See the list in the catalogue.

Diefenbaker Library Collection

Over 4,000 titles. The Diefenbaker Library Collection predominantly includes books that were owned by former Prime Minister and U Sask alumnus John Diefenbaker. The collection has been supplemented by other books relating to Diefenbaker and his government. See the list in the catalogue. This material is housed off-site, and will need to be requested at least a day in advance of your visit.

Duff Spafford Alumni Book Collection

This is a collection of book published by Aumni of the University of Saskatchewan. It was originally housed in the College or Administration building and in 2018 the Alumni Book Collection was moved to the University Archives and Special Collections. It was renamed the Duff Spafford Alumni book collection after the founder of the collection. Some items are shelved outside the Dean's office on the first floor of the Murray Library, and the rest are available for viewing in the University Archives and Special Collections reading room. The collection continues to grow through donations. You can view the collection by clicking this link, Duff Spafford Alumni Book Collection. You can search that list by clicking "Modify Search" and adding your new search criteria to the search boxes, leaving "Duff Spafford Alumni Book Collection" in the first search box.

Faculty Publications (Articles)

This collection includes offprints and reprints of articles authored by University of Saskatchewan faculty members - dating back to the first faculty members including Walter Murray and Edmund Oliver. If you wish to submit articles, please send an email to ua.sc@usask.ca with Faculty Publications Articles in the subject line and we will contact you. Thank you for helping build this important special collection. This collection is offsite and will need to be requested in advance of your visit.

Franklin Delano Roosevelt Collection

At over 800 titles consisting of more than a thousand items, the Franklin Delano Roosevelt collection is one of the most complete collections about the former US president. On the surface, one might have difficulty drawing any direct correlation between The Franklin Delano Roosevelt Collection and the province of Saskatchewan, but in fact, the ideas put forth by the US president’s  “New Deal” legislation had a great influence on the direction that Saskatchewan Premier Tommy Douglas and his CCF government would eventually steer the province. The collection, a generous gift of Henry & Cheryl Kloppenburg, is of outstanding significance and cultural importance for its close association with Canadian history, and in particular, to Saskatchewan political history.  For this reason, this comprehensive collection has been certified by the Canadian Cultural Property Review Board. See the list in the catalogue.

Neil Richards Collection of Sexual and Gender Diversity

The Richards Collection, containing rare and/or fragile titles and collections dealing with sexual and gender diversity, complements the Library's extensive circulating collections on these subjects.  Among the collection's particular strengths are holdings of LGBT periodicals, books by Canadian authors and publishers, queer mystery and detective fiction, and titles of both nonfiction and fiction (including pulp novels) which predate the Stonewall Riots of 1969 and the beginning of the Gay Liberation Movement. See the list in the catalogue. Includes the following subseries Canadian Gay and Lesbian Collection, Gay, Lesbian and Transgender Pulp Literature, and Queer Mystery and Detective Fiction.

Peter Bietenholz Rare Book Collection

The Bietenholz Rare Book collection is a significant compilation of books in a number of languages that are many hundreds of years old, including 16th and 17th century editions of famous authors such as Desiderius Erasmus, Horace, Julius Caesar, Machiavelli, Ovid and Plutarch. Visit this website for information about the donors, the collection, and each item in the collection, highlighting the especially interesting ones. The collection has also been full catalogued and the records are accessible on the on-line catalogue.

Rare Books

The Rare Books Collection at the University of Saskatchewan Library's University Archives & Special Collections comprises almost 4,000 volumes ranging from medieval manuscripts, to early printed Bibles, to first editions of such literary greats as Dickens, Twain, and Sir Walter Scott, among others. Also included in the Rare Books Collection are paintings and prints by such renowned artists as John James Audubon and William H. Perehudoff, and works in several languages including, but not limited to, Latin, German, French, Russian, Japanese, and Chinese.  See the list in the catalogue.

University of Saskatchewan Theses

8,300+ volumes; includes bound copies of all masters' and doctoral theses accepted by U Sask since 1914. Starting in 2007, all theses are now submitted electronically and are available in the catalogue as soon as they are approved by the thesis committee.

Theses must be used in the Special Collections reading area. In addition, theses may be accessed through the HARVEST depending on the time of thesis' submission or its inclusion in the digitization program currently underway.

Theses may be searched by choosing "Thesis collection" in the drop down menu in the catalogue.

University Authors Collection (Monographs)

The University Authors Collection is a repository of published works that have been created by University of Saskatchewan faculty or staff during their employment or retirement. The collection is quite comprehensive, starting with works published at the time of the University’s establishment.  Books, book chapters, conference proceedings, scores, albums, and new editions are examples of published works suitable for addition to the University Authors Collection.

If you are U Sask faculty or staff and have authored, edited, translated or compiled published works we would like to add them to the University Authors Collection. Please send an email containing brief bibliographic information about your publication to ua.sc@usask.ca with University Authors Collection - Addition in the subject line and we will purchase a copy. Donations are also gratefully received.

University Publications

This collection includes material published by (and in some cases about) University of Saskatchewan colleges, departments and administrative units, including: convocation programs, university yearbooks, college yearbooks, The Sheaf (student newspaper), On Campus News (university newspaper) and predecessor publications, student memorabilia such as dance cards and musical programs, college and department histories, etc. Contact us for assistance in locating items in this collection.

Veterinary Medicine Rare Books Collection

This collection, originally housed at the Western College of Veterinary Medicine Library, is comprised of over 1,100 rare veterinary medicine books and memorabilia including The Rosen Collection of Veterinary Medicine History. See the list in the catalogue.

Dr. Jack Rosen collected veterinary medicine books and memorabilia for over 30 years and donated his private collection to the Veterinary Medicine Library in 2004. The Rosen Collection of Veterinary Medicine History consists of approximately 500 books, journals, newsletters, family records, offprints, pamphlets, clippings, certificates, and awards reflecting the history of veterinary medicine and agriculture from the early 16th to mid-20th centuries, both in North America and Europe. The oldest book in the collection is a 1528 printing of Libri de re rustica (The Books of Country Life), an anthology of ancient Greek and Roman agricultural manuscripts. This copy has been re-bound and is in perfect condition.

Special Collections in Other Locations

Abram Hoffer Orthomolecular Collection  (Leslie and Irene Dubé Health Sciences Library)

Historical Textbook Collection (Education and Music Library)

Saskatchewan Music Collection (Education and Music Library)

Science Library Historical Collection - Coming Soon! (Science Library)