Research Guides: AREC 428 Case Studies in Agribusiness Management: Suggested Databases

What are databases?

A library database:

is an online catalog or index
contains information about published items
is searchable

Databases can provide access to a range of research materials: academic journal, newspaper, and magazine articles; e-books, relevant websites, data repositories, statistical sources, and more.

Our library subscribes to many databases so the U of S community has access to these resources. When you're searching a database, you are not searching "the web."

Databases

If you need assistance in using these databases to find information, please contact your librarian, Virginia Wilson (virginia.wilson@usask.ca).

Factiva
A worldwide news/information service. Content from newswires, newspapers, magazines and websites. Includes Reuters company fundamentals, and D&B company profiles. Stand-alone product not linked to other sources.

License Information: Access is restricted to three (3) simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
IBISWorld
United States and Canadian industry reports organized by NAICS codes; plus specialized US small business market research reports which are very relevant to Canadian entrepreneurs.
New to our subcription this year is the Wizerd Tool, which is a premium filtering tool that allows you to find needle in a haystack industries that fit your ideal level and trend criteria. The Wizard Tool can help identify industries to fit your appetite based on facts and data, not just rumors or other secondary opinions. Many of the most advanced users access this tool for prospecting into new growth industries and to better implement their strategies. And also, the Canadian Financial Ratios. This collection helps you assess companies' strengths and efficiencies and benchmark them against industry norms.

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)
CBCA subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference) cover current events, culture, business, education, history, language, government etc. Sources include scholarly journals, magazines, dissertations, books, newspapers, news services and magazines.

Formerly CBCA Complete: Canadian Business & Current Affairs.

Note: For Newspaper text see Canadian Newsstream (formerly Canadian Newsstand) or Proquest databases option to add it to CBCA.

License Information: This is a Saskatchewan Multitype Database Licensing Project (MDLP) license. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to walk-in users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.