Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip to main content

University Library Online

Services Available - Library Closed, Classes Online

Public Services

 
Study Space

The ground floor of the Murray Library is open for limited student study space. All other library locations remain closed until further notice. Reserving a time to use library space in Murray can be made at our booking site.

Effective January 25, 2021, occupancy of the ground floor of the Murray Building was reduced by public health order to a maximum of 30 people, including library staff. This means that there is a limit of 24 study spaces available per bookable time slot. This includes a single occupant in each of the group study rooms, and 16 seats at an individual table or computer workstation.

Individual study seats and Learning Commons computers are now available on a "first-come, first-served" drop-in basis on the Murray Library ground floor. The eight study rooms must be pre-booked and are available in 5-hour blocks, mornings and afternoons, Monday to Friday.

Print Collection

Self-Service Contactless PickupScan and Send service, and Distance and Distributed Library Services are available for accessing the library's physical collections. Self-Service Contactless Pickup hours are Monday to Friday, 1 to 7:30 pm.

As of September 1, 2020, recalls are available for items that are currently checked out by other library users. Items listed as "In Library Use Only" cannot be borrowed, but small portions of them can be scanned for you.

University Archives and Special Collections offers select digital access, but remains closed.

Ask Us if you need assistance searching our online collections or if you have questions about Contactless Pickup.

Research Help

Ask Us Chat, text, and email available Monday - Friday: 9 am to 5 pm; Saturday - Sunday: closed; closed all statutory holidays.

Can email subject librarians

Research Guides

A-Z Databases

Instruction / Workshops

Librarians and Learning Specialists are available to facilitate in-class instruction or workshops on research, writing, or academic skills development. These might be structured as synchronous or asynchronous sessions. See also our page on Support for Teaching

Writing Help
Location closed, but can receive help online.
Math and Stats Help
Location closed, but can receive help online.
Peer Mentoring
Workshops available online through WebEx.
Structured Study Sessions
Available online through WebEx. 
Library Services Desk

No in-person service. Send us an email or Ask Us if you have questions about your library account. 

Self-Service Contactless Pickup is available. 

There are three ways to return your items: two book drops at the Murray building or mail. Please note that we quarantine returned items for 3-5 business days before checking them in. Items will still appear on your account until they have been checked in.

Course Reserves

Physical items on reserve are not available to borrow through Self-Service Contactless Pickup. However, portions of them may be scanned for you (subject to fair dealing guidelines).

Electronic items may be available through Blackboard or Canvas Course Pages. Instructors can submit a request form to have electronic library resources added to their LMS.

Interlibrary Loan

Services are fully operational. Print materials requested through ILL can be picked up at the Self-Service Contactless Pickup location. Due to ongoing closures at other libraries, delays may be possible.

Copyright Office
Can contact through email and phone.
   

University Archives & Special Collections

University Archives & Special Collections offices are currently closed onsite. A limited number of in-person appointments are available for researchers whose needs can’t be met through the digitization service.

Can contact via email: ua.sc@usask.ca

Access to Collections/Reference

UASC Reading Room closed.

Some collections are online.

Can contact via email.

A lot of information about our collections, including digitized material, is available through the UASC website. Reference services are available by email at ua.sc@usask.ca. In addition to providing previously digitized information through available digital resources, a part-time cohort of staff is available to help with new digitization requests and research questions that require consultation of collections housed on-site. A limited number of in-person appointments are also available, for researchers whose needs can’t be met through the digitization service.
More information: https://library.usask.ca/uasc/services/index.php#ServiceUpdate

Digital Research Centre

The DRC office space is currently closed. 

Some remote services are available: https://library.usask.ca/drc/DRC-Covid-19-Update.php

Can contact via email: drc@usask.ca

 

Digitization

No service. 

Researcher support

Can contact via email.