From the publisher: an electronic current awareness service covering recent judicial developments pertaining to Canada's aboriginal peoples (First Nations, Inuit, and Métis). Topics addressed include treaty rights, land and resource claims, self-government of bands and nations, taxation issues, native justice, and criminal sentencing provisions specific to aboriginal offenders.
From the website: "The Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples (RCAP) was established by Order in Council on August 26, 1991, and it submitted in October 1996 the Report of the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples. The RCAP was mandated to investigate and propose solutions to the challenges affecting the relationship between Aboriginal peoples (First Nations, Inuit, Métis), the Canadian government and Canadian society as a whole."
A Knock on the Door: the Essential History of Residential Schools from the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada by Phil Fontaine (Foreword by); Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada Staff; Aimée Craft (Afterword by)"It can start with a knock on the door one morning. It is the local Indian agent, or the parish priest, or, perhaps, a Mounted Police officer." So began the school experience of many Indigenous children in Canada for more than a hundred years, and so begins the history of residential schools prepared by the Truth & Reconciliation Commission of Canada (TRC). Between 2008 and 2015, the TRC provided opportunities for individuals, families, and communities to share their experiences of residential schools and released several reports based on 7000 survivor statements and five million documents from government, churches, and schools, as well as a solid grounding in secondary sources.A Knock on the Door, published in collaboration with the National Research Centre for Truth & Reconciliation, gathers material from the several reports the TRC has produced to present the essential history and legacy of residential schools in a concise and accessible package that includes new materials to help inform and contextualize the journey to reconciliation that Canadians are now embarked upon.Survivor and former National Chief of the Assembly First Nations, Phil Fontaine, provides a Foreword, and an Afterword introduces the holdings and opportunities of the National Centre for Truth & Reconciliation, home to the archive of recordings, and documents collected by the TRC. As Aim#65533;e Craft writes in the Afterword, knowing the historical backdrop of residential schooling and its legacy is essential to the work of reconciliation. In the past, agents of the Canadian state knocked on the doors of Indigenous families to take the children to school. Now, the Survivors have shared their truths and knocked back. It is time for Canadians to open the door to mutual understanding, respect, and reconciliation.
The CNLR database contains the headnotes and judgments of court and tribunal decisions relevant to Aboriginal law that are published in the Canadian Native Law Reporter. Coverage: From 1979 through current.
Access via Lexis Advance Quicklaw. Personal password required. Contact NLP Librarian for assistance.
From the publisher: "The Canada Aboriginal Law Digest contains an extensive selection of Aboriginal Law case summaries from all Canadian common law jurisdictions, organized according to a detailed and intuitive classification scheme. Content is organized according to the LexisNexis Classification System under more than 500 aboriginal law headings and sub-headings. Within each heading, the summaries are organized by court level, then by jurisdiction, and then by date. This source includes a browse feature that allows users to easily navigate through the headings and sub-headings to quickly locate cases on point. Researchers may also perform keyword searches in the summaries or search by Classification Number, e.g. ABR90. Case citations are hyperlinked to the full text version of each decision."
From the publisher: "Contains all the digests published in the LexisNexis Aboriginal Law NetLetter / Bulletin LexisNexis Droit des Autochtones, which is an electronic current awareness service covering recent judicial developments pertaining to Canada's aboriginal peoples (First Nations, Inuit, and Métis)."
From the publisher: This source contains the full text of decisions of the Canada Specific Claims Tribunal Decisions. The Specific Claims Tribunal, established on October 16, 2008, is part of the Federal Government's Justice at Last policy and joint initiative with the Assembly of First Nations aimed at accelerating the resolution of specific claims in order to provide justice for First Nations claimants and certainty for government, industry and all Canadians. The term "specific claims" generally refers to monetary damage claims made by a First Nation against the Crown regarding the administration of land and other First Nation assets and to the fulfillment of Indian treaties that have not been accepted for negotiation or that have not been resolved through a negotiated settlement within a specified time frame.