Posted on the The Canadian Legal Research and Writing Guide (CanLII). This guide provides helpful information for each stage of the legal research process.
Legal Research and Writing by Ted TjadenThis book seeks to explain the practical skills needed for print and online legal research and writing. It provides a current and comprehensive look at the topic, consolidating information on legal research and writing into one handy, easy-to-use resource. Written for both seasoned practitioners seeking to add the latest sources and techniques to their research arsenal, and for beginner law students who face a bewildering array of information, this book includes chapters on legal research and writing malpractice, the acquisition of research resources, international and foreign legal research, and knowledge management. In addition, it covers legal citation, the recovery of online legal research expenses, searching the new platforms of the major proprietary online legal databases, the increasing digitization of legal materials, and free legal research resources on the Internet, while also providing a list of over 1,300 leading Canadian legal treatises organized into forty-eight topics. Legal Research and Writingis the most up-to-date book of its kind available in Canada today.
Call Number: Available in print in the Nunavut Law Program classroom
Publication Date: 2016
The Comprehensive Guide to Legal Research, Writing and Analysis by Moira McCarney, Ruth Kuras, Annette Demers; with Shelley KiersteadFrom the publisher: "The Comprehensive Guide, written by an authoritative and experienced team of legal research instructors and librarians, provides extensive coverage with step-by-step instructions for performing a variety of legal research tasks across all Canadian jurisdictions: federal, provincial, and territorial. This edition provides strategic information on how to analyze research results and how to effectively communicate findings through legal writing."
Call Number: Available in the Nunavut Law Program classroom