Books available in the Nunavut Law Program classroom
Guthrie’s Guide to Better Legal Writing by Neil Guthrie
Aspen Handbook for Legal Writers: a Practical Reference, 4th ed by Deborah E. BouchouxBuy anew versionof this Connected Casebook and receiveaccessto theonline e-book,practice questionsfrom your favorite study aids, and anoutline toolon CasebookConnect, the all in one learning solution for law school students. CasebookConnect offers you what you need most to be successful in your law school classes - portability, meaningful feedback, and greater efficiency. The Aspen Handbook for Legal Writers, a brief and accessible reference on mechanics and style, is a useful companion to any legal writing text. Targetedat the needs of legal writers, the text initially focuses on the rules of grammar, style, and usage--with plenty of examples. A section on Legal Documentsoffers strategies to improve legal writing, with sample letters, memorandum, case brief, trial brief, and appellate brief. Numerous, helpful examples showcaseboth good and bad writing. This practical approach helps law students with common problems and dilemmas: substitutions for "legalese," lists of commonly used legal idioms, spellingtips, advice on organization and the legal writing process, proofreading, and document design. Modeled after handbooks used at the undergraduate level,the Handbook features a small trim size, comb-binding, clear organization, two-color printing, and helpful design elements to highlight importantinformation. Distinctive features designed with the student in mind include Websites for each topic addressed, Tips and Strategies to highlight key topicssuch as breaking writers'' blocks, meeting deadlines, communicating by email and text messaging, ethics notes, and Challenge Exercises in each chapterto test mastery. A brief Table of Contents on the inside front cover and Style Sheet on the inside back cover offer quick reference. Key Features: For all writers, pragmatic and useful information is given on beginning the writing process, tips to meet deadlines, common legal conventions or traditions, common blunders made by legal writers, and proofreading and document design. The fundamental features of legal writing (accuracy, readability, clarity, and brevity) are covered in depth. Quiz or ''Challenge'' questions test readers'' comprehension of the material and showcase methods to improve writing. Sample documents are provided for the most common types of legal writings, including: Sample demand letter Sample opinion letter Sample legal memorandum Sample trial court brief Sample appellate brief (which includes a table of authorities) Sample case brief Sample litigation document (a complaint for breach of contract) Sample transactional document (a joint venture agreement) Electronic communications are covered-twenty tips for using email in a professional setting are given, along with tips for web conferences, texting, and communicating through social media. The Handbook also includes an Appendix on English as a Second Language, which should be helpful to students and new attorneys whose language of origin is not English. CasebookConnectfeatures: ONLINE E-BOOK Law school comes with a lot of reading, so access your enhanced e-book anytime, anywhere to keep up with your coursework. Highlight, take notes in the margins, and search the full text to quickly find coverage of legal topics. PRACTICE QUESTIONS Quiz yourself before class and prep for your exam in the Study Center. Practice questions fromExamples & Explanations,Emanuel Law Outlines,Emanuel Law in a Flashflashcards, and other best-selling study aid series help you study for exams while tracking your strengths and weaknesses to help optimize your study time. OUTLINE TOOL Most professors will tell you that starting your outline early is key to being successful in your law school classes. The Outline Tool automatically populates your notes and highlights from the e-book into an editable format to accelerate your outline creation and increase study time later in the semester.
Publication Date: 2017
The comprehensive guide to legal research, writing and analysis by Moira McCarney; Ruth Kuras; Annette Demers; with Shelley KiersteadThe Comprehensive Guide, written by an authoritative and experienced team of legal research instructors and librarians, provides extensive coverage with step-by-step instructions for performing a variety of legal research tasks across all Canadian jurisdictions: federal, provincial, and territorial. This edition provides strategic information on how to analyze research results and how to effectively communicate findings through legal writing.
Just Briefs by Laurel Currie Oates; Anne Enquist; Connie KrontzFrom the distinguished authors of the popular Legal Writing Handbook, Fourth Edition, comes this clear and focused treatment of briefs, in the authors'effective step-by-step writing style. Developed from the coverage on briefs from the authors' successful Legal Writing Handbook, this text includes: focused coverage on how to write briefs helpful examples of trial and appellate briefs how to present an effective oral argument straightforward, step-by-step exposition Designed to complement any comprehensive legal writing coursebook, Just Briefs, Second Edition, provides clear and focused coverage of the writing techniques unique to creating effective briefs.
Publication Date: 2013
Just Research: Preparing for Practice, 5th Edition by Laurel Currie Oates; Anne EnquistJust Research provides students with the information and skills that will enable them to do thorough and cost-effective research as soon as they enter into practice. Highly respected authors Laurel Currie Oates and Anne Enquist describe the sources that can be used to research the most common types of legal issues, for example, issues governed by state statutes and regulations, issues governed by federal statutes and regulations, issues governed by local law, and issued governed by common law.
Publication Date: 2017
Just Writing: : Grammar, Punctuation, and Style for the Legal Writer by Anne Enquist; Laurel Currie Oates; Jeremy FrancisBuy anew versionof this Connected Casebook and receiveaccessto theonline e-book,practice questionsfrom your favorite study aids, and anoutline toolon CasebookConnect, the all in one learning solution for law school students. CasebookConnect offers you what you need most to be successful in your law school classes - portability, meaningful feedback, and greater efficiency. From the authors of the widely praised Legal Writing Handbook, the Fifth Edition of this comprehensive guide hones in on the basic principles of grammar, punctuation, and legal style. Clear guidance, examples, and practical advice make this a perfect companion to legal writing texts and indispensable to the process of writing and editing legal documents. In the Fifth Edition, CasebookConnectlinks the text to a variety of online resources and materials. Expanded coverage for ESL legal writers (in the text) includes examples and discussion of how and when to apply sentence patterns frequently employed in common law legal reasoning. Just Writing, Fifth Edition, features: The perfect balance of explanatory text and examples Tips and techniques for every step of the writing process Instruction for writing with precision and eloquence Advice on when to use legal terms or plain English A legal writing chapter that specifically addresses ESL legal writers Quick Tips and Practice Exercises--now on CasebookConnect A diagnostic exam for grammar and punctuation A helpful Glossary of Usage, offering hints on word choice CasebookConnectfeatures: ONLINE E-BOOK Law school comes with a lot of reading, so access your enhanced e-book anytime, anywhere to keep up with your coursework. Highlight, take notes in the margins, and search the full text to quickly find coverage of legal topics. PRACTICE QUESTIONS Quiz yourself before class and prep for your exam in the Study Center. Practice questions fromExamples & Explanations,Emanuel Law Outlines,Emanuel Law in a Flashflashcards, and other best-selling study aid series help you study for exams while tracking your strengths and weaknesses to help optimize your study time. OUTLINE TOOL Most professors will tell you that starting your outline early is key to being successful in your law school classes. The Outline Tool automatically populates your notes and highlights from the e-book into an editable format to accelerate your outline creation and increase study time later in the semester.
Publication Date: 2017
The Lawyer's Essential Guide to Writing by Marie P. Buckley; Ilissa K. PovichThe Lawyer's Essential Guide to Writing is a readable, concrete guide to contemporary legal writing. Based on Marie Buckley's years of experience coaching lawyers, this book provides a systematic approach to all forms of written communication, from memoranda and briefs to e-mail and blogs. The book sets forth three principles for powerful writing and shows how to apply those principles to develop a clean and confident style.
Publication Date: 2012
Legal Problem Solving – Reasoning, Research and Writing, 7th Edition by Maureen F. FitzgeraldThis bestseller has been widely adopted by Canadian colleges and universities, and used by Canadian law schools for more than 20 years. The author provides readers with practical commentary on effective legal research in the context of the complete legal problem solving process, and offer a structured framework to efficiently navigate paper-based resources and online databases. This text introduced the well-recognized FILAC structure to legal writing adopted by professors and lawyers across Canada.
Publication Date: 2016
Legal writing : mastering clarity and persuasion by John HollanderWhat should a lawyer think about before putting pen to paper? How should lawyers organize their documents? What makes them persuasive? This handbook provides examples and exercises to guide the reader through the process of learning how to communicate persuasively. The chapters deal with such overarching topics as legal writing as a case of project management, general principles of legal writing, and specific good and bad habits.
Publication Date: 2013
Plain English for Lawyers, Fifth Edition by Richard C. WydickLast January, the Legal Writing Institute gave Wydick its Golden Pen Award for having written Plain English for Lawyers. The Legal Writing Institute is a non-profit organization that provides a forum for discussion and scholarship about legal writing, analysis, and research. The Institute has over 1,300 members representing all of the ABA-accredited law schools in the United States. Its membership also includes law teachers from other nations, English teachers, and practicing lawyers.The LWI award states: ?Plain English for Lawyers . . . has become a classic. Perhaps no single work has done more to improve the writing of lawyers and law students and to promote the modern trend toward a clear, plain style of legal writing.'In 2003 Wydick retired after 32 years on the law faculty of the University of California, Davis. But he still teaches his favorite course ? a seminar in advanced legal writing for third-year law students. For the past eight summers he has also lectured at the International Legislative Drafting Institute presented in New Orleans by the Public Law Center, a joint venture of Tulane and Loyola law schools. There the audience consists of lawyers and non-lawyers from abroad who earn their living drafting legislation in many different languages. ?Teaching at the Institute,? Wydick says, ?is a precious opportunity to learn how much we English-users have in common with people who write laws in other languages.'How will the fifth edition of Plain English for Lawyers differ from its predecessors? Wydick promises that it will remain a little book, small enough and palatable enough not to intimidate over-loaded law students. ?Most of the text will remain the same,? Wydick says, ?but in the past seven years I've learned some new things about writing in English, and I want to share that with the readers.' In addition, the exercises at the end of the chapters will be different (a welcome change for long-time teachers who are tired of the old ones). Finally, the teacher's manual will include additional exercises that teachers can give to students who want or need extra practice.' . . . probably the most popular legal text today . . . .'?The New York Times
Publication Date: 2005
Scholarly Writing for Law Students by Elizabeth Fajans; Mary FalkThis book fills an important niche in legal-writing literature by teaching law students how to write scholarly papers for seminars, law reviews, and law-review competitions and how to have their work recognized. It helps novices and more experienced scholars alike to write papers with a minimum of anxiety and a maximum of creativity. Employing a process theory of writing, the text first describes the enterprise of scholarly writing and then discusses techniques for brainstorming topics and theses, researching, drafting, and revising for substance and style. It covers both traditional doctrinal topics and newer areas like empirical studies. There are also chapters on footnotes, avoiding plagiarism, law review practice, and dissemination of student work through publication and submission to national writing competitions. Appendices provide a sample law-review competition paper, answers to in-text exercises, sample syllabi for scholarly writing courses, and a rubric for evaluating and editing scholarly papers and articles.
Publication Date: 2017
The Ultimate Guide to Canadian Legal Research by Susan Barker; Maureen F. FitzgeraldBased on the highly successful legal research text, Legal Problem Solving: Reasoning, Research and Writing, 7th Edition and written by the same experts, this resource directs you step-by-step through any legal problem – from identifying keywords to conducting electronic searches. Also included are brief descriptions of each of the various sources and research aids – from secondary materials and commentaries to statutes and regulations.
Elements of Style by William StrunkThe Elements of Style (1918), by William Strunk, Jr., and E.B. White, is an American English writing style guide. It is the best-known, most influential prescriptive treatment of English grammar and usage, and often is required reading and usage in U.S. high school and university composition classes. This edition of The Elements of Style details eight elementary rules of usage, ten elementary principles of composition, "a few matters of form," and a list of commonly misused words and expressions.
Call Number: Available in print in the Nunavut Law Program classroom