Sentencing: Principles and Practice by Danielle Robitaille and Erin Winocur
Call Number: KF9685 .R66 2020
Publication Date: 2020
Sentencing, 9th edition by Clayton Ruby
Call Number: On order - KF9685 .R83 2017
Implicating the System: Judicial Discourses in the Sentencing of Indigenous Women by Elspeth Kaiser-Derrick
Call Number: HV9308 .K35 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Sentencing and Penal Policy in Canada: Cases, Materials, and Commentary by Allan Manson
Call Number: KF9728 .A7M35 2016
Specialist Courts for Sentencing Aboriginal Offenders by Paul Bennett
Call Number: On order
Publication Date: 2016
Criminal Law, 6th ed by Kent Roach
Call Number: KF9220 .ZA2R6 2015
See CHAPTER 11: Sentencing
Inuit Laws: Tirigusuusiit, Piqujait, and Maligait by Jarich Oosten, Frédéric Laugrand, and Willem Rasing, editorsFrom the publisher: "Through the voices of Inuit elders, this book is a critical and cultural-historical engagement with the traditional concepts of tirigusuusiit, piqujait, and maligait. These three concepts refer to what had to be followed, done, or not done in Inuit culture. Although these terms are now often used as equivalents to modern Western notions of law, this work examines how Inuit and Western concepts of law derive from completely different cultural perspectives. Through the guiding concepts of maligait, piqujait, and tirigusuusiit, this book transcends discussions of law, examining how these Inuit concepts are embedded in social and cosmic relationships. This unique book examines these challenging concepts through the knowledge and stories of Inuit elders and evokes a unique experience whereby Western knowledge—embodied in the participating scholars—works to describe and understand Inuit knowledge and models of traditional law."
Publication Date: 2017
e-Books available at USask Library
Sentencing in Canada : Essays in Law, Policy, and PracticeSentencing in Canada contains a unique collection of essays that explore all key aspects of sentencing. The contributors include leading academics, criminal law practitioners, and members of the judiciary, and many of the authors have extensive experience working in the areas of sentencing and parole. The volume is not simply a statement of the law—instead, the chapters examine the wider context in which sentencing and parole decisions are taken.
dsLibris is a database of Canadian monographs offering a rich selection of over 16,000 e-books (fiction and non-fiction) and 50,000 public policy documents.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for their occasional use, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Examples of publications included in this database:
Description from publisher: "An electronic current awareness service covering recent judicial developments in sentencing under the Criminal Code and other federal statutes. This NetLetter includes all sentences imposed for Criminal Code offences, provided that both the offence and the sentence can be ascertained. Also included are cases dealing with the issues of parole, dangerous and long-term offender status, compliance with a sex offender registry, and appeals from Review Board decisions."
From the publisher: "Comprehensive source of sentencing summaries from 1997 to the present, organized according to the detailed LexisNexis Classification scheme. Canada Sentencing Quantums contains summaries of court cases from all Canadian jurisdictions. Content is organized according to Criminal Code and non-Criminal Code offences. In addition, cases can be searched according to the sanction imposed, including imprisonment, fines and conditional sentences. Cases can also be accessed according to sentencing considerations, including aggravating and mitigating circumstances, deterrence and time already served."
Secondary Sources: WestlawNext Canada
Sentencing: The Practitioner's Guide:
From the publisher: "provides the reader with the available sentences and the range of sentence for offences in the Criminal Code. For each offence, it offers an analysis of the applicable sentencing principles, as well as the key factors influencing sentencing. Mandatory and discretionary dispositions are noted for each offence, and arepresentative sample of appellate cases demonstrate the spectrum of sentences imposed by judges in the past."
Access viaWNC Home> Texts and Annotations > CriminalSource Texts and Annotations > Sentencing: The Practitioner's Guide
Canadian Sentencing Digest
From the publisher: "Text of the Canadian Sentencing Digests by R. Paul Nadin-Davis and Clarey B. Sproule, which digests federal and provincial court decisions regarding sentencing quantum under the Canadian Criminal Code and other related statutes. The annual digest is organized by offence. Coverage begins with 1980."
Access viaWNC Home> Texts and Annotations > CriminalSource Texts and Annotations > Canadian Sentencing Digest
Journals and Statistical Reports
Adult correctional services in CanadaThis publication provides timely information pertaining to services provided by governmental agencies responsible for adult corrections in each of the provincial, territorial and federal sectors. While summary descriptive information is included, the main focus of the report is statistical data on caseload characteristics (e.g. number of admissions to correctional facilities, age and sex of offenders, offences for which the offenders is admitted to a correctional facility, sentence length, time served, etc.) and resource expenditures relating to both custodial and community supervision services. The data presented in the report cover five fiscal years with each release
Justice Canada creates a variety of reports and publications, including corporate documents, handbooks, guides, research reports and fact sheets. Learn more about the Research and Statistics Division (RSD) at the Department of Justice.