This is the "Home" page of the "Chicago Style for Music" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chicago Style for Music   Tags: chicago citation style, citing, managing references, music, reference list  

The following style sheet is intended to give musical examples and some variations on the standard examples shown in the latest edition of the Chicago Manual of Style (SMC).
Last Updated: Sep 27, 2013 URL: http://libguides.usask.ca/chicagomusic Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How to use this guide

The following style sheet is intended to give musical examples and some variations on the standard examples shown in the latest edition of the Chicago Manual of Style (SMC).  

 

For further information about citing sources contact:

Carolyn Doi, Music Librarian

carolyn.doi@usask.ca

306 966 2433

 

 

Download this guide

Download a PDF copy of this guide.

 

Guide credits

This guide is based on the Chicago Manual of Style, 16th ed. and Citing Music Resources Using Chicago Style (Bibliography Format) (PDF guide from McGill University Library). 

 

How to structure a bibliographic entry

A bibliography is the complete list of all the resources used in a paper. In a bibliographic entry the elements (author, title, publication information, etc.) are separated by period and a single space. The first-listed author’s name is usually inverted (last name first).

Titles in English are capitalized headline-style unless they are in a foreign language (Chicago 14.95 - 14.96). Titles of larger works (e.g., books and journals) are italicized; and titles of smaller works (e.g., chapters, articles) or unpublished works are enclosed in quotation marks. The spelling, hyphenation, and punctuation in the original title found on the item should be preserved, with some exceptions (Chicago 14.96).

Commas and periods go inside the quotation marks. Noun forms such as editor, translator, volume, and edition are abbreviated, but verb forms such as edited by and translated by are spelled out in a bibliography (Chicago 14.16). If no date or place of publication can be determined, the abbreviations “n.d.” and “n.p.” may be substituted. Estimates of dates and places of publication may be placed in square brackets and followed by a question mark.

e.g.       Boston: Oliver Ditson, n.d.

n.p.: Insel-Verlag, [1949?]

Bibliographic entries are indented after the first line, called a “hanging indent.” HINT: To create a hanging indent in Microsoft Word, select the entries and press CTRL-T. The entries should be alphabetized by author. Some bibliographic information may be difficult to determine from a document. To clarify these details, check the information provided in the Library Catalogue record for the item you are citing.

 

More resources

This style sheet is intended to give musical examples and some variations on the standard examples shown in the latest edition of the Chicago Manual of Style (SMC). For further information about composing bibliographies and writing about music, users are encouraged to consult the sources below.

Cover Art
The Chicago Manual of Style - University of Chicago Staff (Editor)
Call Number: Z253 .U69
ISBN: 9780226104201
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
[Online edition]

Cover Art
Music Research - Laurie J. Sampsel
Call Number: ML113 .S28 2009
ISBN: 9780195171198
Publication Date: 2008-02-25
[Education Library Reference Collection]

Cover Art
Writing about Music - D. Kern Holoman
Call Number: ML63 .W68 2008
ISBN: 9780520256187
Publication Date: 2008-07-01
[Education Library Reference Collection]

Cover Art
Irvine's Writing about Music - Demar Irvine; Mark A. Radice (Revised by)
Call Number: ML 3797 I79 1999
ISBN: 1574670492
Publication Date: 2003-03-01
[Education Library Reference Collection]

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip