Northern Studies: Websites

This site is a large network of international dialogue (primarily through Assemblies and Forums) and cooperation on the future of the Arctic. It is an open democratic platform with participation from governments, organizations, corporations, universities, think tanks, environmental associations, indigenous communities, concerned citizens, and others interested in the development of the Arctic and its consequences for the future of the globe.

This sub-site of the Arctic Monitoring & Assessment Programme provides access to 3 downloadable reports, including the comprehensive Arctic Climate Impact Assessment Report, published in 2005.

Published February 20, 2015.

The Institute is a non-profit membership organization, multi-disciplinary research Institute of the University of Calgary whose mandate is to advance the study of the North American and circumpolar Arctic through the natural and social sciences, the arts and humanities and to acquire, preserve and disseminate information on physical, environmental and social conditions in the North.

Database of 56,000 records describing publications and research projects about northern Canada.

"Includes references to scientific and engineering research related to material and operations in a winter battlefield, the nature and impact of cold on facilities and activities, cold-related environmental problems, and the impact of human activity on cold environments."

This is a collection of various digital archival resources on the Canadian North and other circumpolar nations.

Along with textual resources this database includes photographs and images related to First Nations, Metis, and Inuit peoples, found in Saskatchewan cultural and heritage collections.

"The Polar Web is a guide to Internet resources dealing with the lands and waters surrounding the North Pole and the South Pole. The Polar Web is a collaborative project of the Polar Libraries Colloquy and the Arctic Centre."

Includes links to: SPRILib Antarctica Database, SPRILib Ice and Snow Database, and SPRILib Russian North Database.

Visit the "Links" section for many more websites.

"The Yukon Biodiversity Database contains descriptions of more than 4300 publications and research projects about the biology of Yukon and the Beaufort Sea."