Northern Studies: Find Articles

Articles and Abstracts

Academic Search Complete (ASC)
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database indexing journals, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals. Abstracts and indexes are also included for monographs, conference proceedings, and reports.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
America: History & Life with Full Text (AHL)
Literature database covering history and culture from the United States and Canada, featuring selected journals and monographs.

CLIO Notes is a research guide for survey course topics. It features concise overviews of historical periods and chronologies as well as suggested research topics. Access CLIO Notes in the navigation bar at the top of the screen.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Arctic & Antarctic Regions
A collection of international polar databases covering research from multiple disciplines on cold regions anywhere, from temperate regions with cold winters to the Himalayas of Tibet. This resource holds arctic resources from the University of Alberta, Scott Polar Research Institute, Library of Congress, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, and the Arctic Bibliography from 1800-present.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of native culture, history and life in North America, Greenland, and eastern Siberia, including: archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)
Abstract and indexing database covering more than 1,665 scholarly journal articles, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers, news services and magazines, including 600 full text titles covering current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information produced in Canada. Combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education and Reference).
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Gale OneFile CPI.Q
A full text database of articles from Canadian and International journals, magazines and reference content from Gale, all with a Canadian focus. Includes The Globe and Mail, Maclean's, Canadian News Facts, and reference materials, including the Canadian Parliamentary Guide and Canadian Newsmakers. The interface is bilingual (English and French).
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
GeoRef & GeoRef in Process
An abstract and indexing database, established by the American Geological Institute (AGI) offering comprehensive access to the geoscience literature of the world, including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. The geology of North America is covered back to 1669, and coverage for the rest of the world back to 1933.

GeoRef in Process is a supplement to GeoRef and contains unedited records that are still in the process of being indexed before being added to GeoRef.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Comprehensive full text database of the literature covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada, covered in America: History & Life with Full Text) from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. HA provides selective indexing of historical articles and access to the full text of modern journals and books.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

I-Portal - Indigenous Studies Portal
Online full text resources for Indigenous studies in all the disciplines, including articles, books, book reviews, websites, archival materials, and theses and dissertations.

Inspec & Inspec Archive
A bibliographic database providing access to the world's scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering.
Please Note: Arrangements for permission to text and data mine this resource can be made with the publisher. Contact the library at USask EResources in advance to arrange these permissions.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Climate Science
Climate is a global phenomenon that impacts every human being on Earth. This online encyclopedia features full-length, regularly updated articles by climate scientists from all over the world that help bridge the divide between the sciences and social sciences.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Environmental Science
This online encyclopedia's major collection of full-length articles provides a kind of foundation for what is known and globally agreed upon in the field of environmental science. Substantive, peer reviewed, and regularly updated, the ORE focuses on how research relates to the world’s actual needs on the ground.

ScienceDirect
Science Direct is a portal to scholarly journals, book series, and ebooks published by Elsevier and affiliated publishers primarily covering science, technology, and medicine and the social sciences.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users (at fixed computer terminals in the library), for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Sociological Abstracts
An abstracting and indexing bibliographic database for international literature in sociology, with content from journals, conference papers, and books. Major areas of coverage include radical sociology, substance abuse and addiction, economic development, and mass phenomena and political interactions.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Web of Science Core Collection
Collection of citation databases, providing abstracts and indexing and cited reference searching to over 10,000 high impact scholarly research journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings, and covering topics in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Zoological Record
The world's leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology, considered the world's unofficial register of animal names. Coverage extends back to 1864. Part of the Web of Knowledge.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.