Access to over 2.500 National Film Board (NFB) of Canada films, trailers and clips. Productions available in both English and French. The Library's institutional license includes public performance rights on campus. Access Note: Faculty can access the "For Teachers" section of NFB.ca by setting up a free account, by clicking "Become a Member" from the website. Once an account has been set up, email firstname.lastname@example.org, and let them know you are faculty at the University of Saskatchewan, the email address used to set up your account, and that you are requesting an activation link for a CAMPUS account.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. This is an institutional license including public performance rights on campus. NFB.ca is also available as an open access resource for all Canadians accessing it from home. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
A streaming video collection of thousands of high-quality digital programs and video clips, covering topics in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, business and economics, and health. Use Films on Demand "to search for specific video segments, organize videos into folders, and create personal playlists for others to view. You can also integrate videos directly into ... distance learning courseware." Access Note: Create a user account (free), in order to create and share customized playlists, save your favourite videos for quick access and set your default preferences, Click on Create Account or Sign In on upper right corner of screen.
Now includes the Entertainment Collection.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to the current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Effective May 1, 2020, the University Library has moved to a mediated access model for Kanopy. As a result, you may notice more need to "request access" to titles for viewing. Please contact your subject librarian with any questions or concerns.
A popular, trendy video streaming service with channels for Great Courses; classic, international, short, experimental films including The Criterion Collection; documentaries including Canadian; Social Issues with channels looking at Feminism, Racism, and LGBTQ; First Nations and lots more. Access note: Internet Explorer is not supported. For a full list of supported browsers, please visit this link
Videos from Databases
The databases available through the Library allow you to search for video content. You can find a list of all video databases here. Before starting a search, read about the database to know what topics may be available through each database.
Use the Advanced Search (link under the search box)
Type your search term(s) (e.g. curriculum design), in the search terms box
Choose discipline (e.g. Education); and Video under Content Type
Under video, choose one of the options (e.g. Tutorial)
Choose a specific video, then click on Get Link to get a link and add to your course
Finding Videos in the Library Catalogue
If you know the name of the video you are looking for, ex: Tough Guise 2, enter this in the Title field in the catalogue.
If you are looking for videos on a specific topic, ex: racism in the classroom, enter the keyword(s) and choose Audio Visual Collection from the pull-down menu (labelled Entire Collection) in the catalogue.
Recommended Online Video Education Resources (ROVER) Link
Rover is a video streaming service maintained and managed by the Ministry of Education. U of S students can link to these videos first by using their NSID and following the prompts. Over 1500 videos can be accessed by grade levels and subjects and support Saskatchewan's K-12 curricula.