Skip to main content

Public Health: Environmental Health

environmental factors including biological, physical, and chemical factors which affect the health of the community

Environmental Health News

Loading ...

Search the Libary Catalogue

Key Resources

Books

Handbook of Environmental Health (2003). HSL Stacks  RA565 .K67 2003

Environmental health sourcebook: Basic consumer health information about the environment and its effect on human health (2003). Vet Med-Floor 1 Stacks  RA565 .E485 2003  

Environmental and occupational medicine (2007).  Health Sc Lib-Res In Lib  RC963 .E58 2007  

Essentials of environmental health. (2007). Health Sc Lib-Stacks RA565 .F75 2007  

Databases

CCOHS (Canadian Centre for Occupational Health & Safety: Portal to a database collection covering Canadian occupational health and safety topics.

ToxNet: A grouping of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and other areas

BC Environmental and Occupational Health Grey Literature Database: Includes environmental and occupational health-related documents that are not searchable through traditional library searchers.

Journals

Environmental Health Perspectives. Major journal in the field; publishes monthly.

International Journal of Environmental Health Research: Looks at 'interaction between the environment and human health, as it relates to the natural environment, the build environment, and communicable diseases.'

Journal of Environmental Health: Covers complete spectrum of environmental health

Associations

American Industrial Hygiene Association: Largest international associations serving the needs of occupational and environmental health and safety professionals

Organizations

National Collaborating Centre for Environmental Health: Funded by the Public Health Agency of Canada, this organization publishes evidence reviews, presentations, and systematic reviews targeted at professionals working in the field.

Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce - Environmental Health:  A project from the US government; includes a comprehensive list of links to various topics related to environmental health, including professional associations, children's health, hazardous waste, tools, conferences and more.

CDC - National Center for Environmental Health: Resources for both professionals and non-professionals, CDC's site has a lengthly list of publications, and numerous resources on EH topics (e.g., built environment; biomonitoring; nutritional indicators)