Finding Theses and Dissertations: Theses from Other Universities

Tips and tricks to locate theses and dissertations, in both print and electronic format, from the University of Saskatchewan and elsewhere.

Print

The library has a limited number of non-USask theses available in our print collection. In the catalogue, search under Word using keywords and “theses”.

Electronic

The University Library catalogue contains approximately 800 e-theses from other universities. Many more theses are available through the databases listed below.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global is the official dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, and includes millions of citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to present. Over a million of these are available in full text, including the majority of theses added since 1997. Content is from North America and Europe, and also now includes full coverage of the UK and Ireland.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Theses Canada Portal
A comprehensive database of Canadian theses and dissertations (index 1965-present, selected full-text coverage 1998-2002, 2005-present) compiled by the Library and Archives Canada (LAC) and other partner university libraries in LAC's Theses Canada Program.
more...less...
A comprehensive database of Canadian theses and dissertations compiled by the Library and Archives Canada and other partner University libraries in LAC's Theses Canada Program. Indexing of Canadian theses goes back to 1965, with digitized text availability from 1998 to 2002 (this coverage will continue to expand) and electronic theses from 2005."The mission of Theses Canada is to acquire and preserve a comprehensive collection of Canadian theses at Library and Archives Canada (LAC), to provide access to this valuable research within Canada and throughout the world." "As of 2008 there are approximately 300,000 theses and dissertations on microform in Library and Archives Canada's collection. Of these approximately 50,000 are also available electronically."
I-Portal Theses
Aboriginal Studies theses - can be limited to theses from the University of Saskatchewan.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)
Advanced research and scholarship. Free to find, free to use. A resource, compiled by an academic consortium, for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 800 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently (Jan., 2014) indexes 1,838,646 theses and dissertations.

WorldCat Dissertations and Theses
An OCLC index to all dissertations, theses and published material based on theses cataloged by OCLC members, including all subjects.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

DART-Europe E-theses Portal
A partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses.
NDLTD Union Catalogue
Includes 836,000 open access electronic theses and dissertations from 90 universities worldwide.
EThOS - Electronic Theses Online Service
Database of UK dissertations and theses provided by the British Library. Note: Temporarily down due to cyberattack.