Skip to main content

Finding Journal Articles: Accessing Journal Articles

Use the Library's Proxy Bookmarklet

To connect to any website through the USask proxy, install the USask proxy bookmarklet in your browser for quick access. 

For most browsers, click, drag and drop the blue button below to your bookmarks bar.

Bookmarks/Favourites bar instructions for: 

That's it! Now, when you hit a paywall while researching online simply click on the USask Proxy link in your bookmarks bar and the page will automatically reload to give you access to the full-text version if the library subscribes to it. You will be prompted to login with your NSID and password if you are not already logged in. 

Below is a video tutorial of setting up the Proxy Bookmarklet:

How to use the USask Proxy Bookmarklet

Accessing Journal Articles

If you find an article that you want, but it is listed as not available in full-text, it may still be available in full-text from a different database.

When you are searching in a database, click on the yellow Yellow Find it! Button  button to see if your article is available from another source.

A new window will open indicating if the Library has access (online and/or print) to your article:

"Available online" - the Library has electronic access to your article - click on Go to view the full-text. (There may be several options listed here. They all lead to the same article, just from different databases. You can click on any of them to see your article.)

 "Available in print" - the Library has a print subscription to your article - the Library location and call number will be written beneath.

 "The U Sask Library does not own this item" - the Library does not have access to your article, either print or electronically. You can complete an Interlibrary Loan request at this stage to have the article sent to you (for free) from a different library.

Having Trouble?

If you are trying to access an article from off campus, and it doesn't seem to work, make sure you are logged in to the library homepage before opening the article. 

Many of our databases require you to be logged in for security reasons if you're working from a computer outside of the university's network.

If you have questions or can't find what you are looking for Ask Us for help!

Ask Us Live Chat is answered by University Library staff. They can help you by answering quick questions.

If you need subject specific help, contact a Librarian.