Kinesiology: Find Articles & Databases

Best Bets for Kinesiology

SPORTDiscus with Full Text
This database is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports, physical education, sports management, and sports medicine literature. It also includes coverage in the areas of biomechanics, coaching, exercise, fitness, health, psychology, training and conditioning, sports injuries, and rehabilitation.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
APA PsycInfo
Bibliographic database "providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences."
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law. .
MEDLINE: Ovid MEDLINE
OVID version of the world's largest clinical medicine database, including anatomy and sports medicine. Medline Handout
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
PubMed
Includes access to MEDLINE® and to citations for selected articles in life science journals not included in MEDLINE.
This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.To access full text, you must authenticate with your NSID.
EMBASE: Excerpta Medica & EMBASE Classic
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing "international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation." There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. Includes the archive, EMBASE Classic back to 1947. EMBASE Excerpta Medica Database (EMBASE) is a subset of EMBASE.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law. .
CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature
A comprehensive database providing full text for more than 760 journals (450 only available in full-text through CINAHL) and abstracts and indexing for over 3000 journals covering nursing & allied health topics.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ERIC (Ovid): Education Resources Information Center
Primary database for education, including physical education, training and coaching.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law. .
Public Health Database
Provides access to the core public health literature from journals, dissertations, videos, and more. Current newspaper articles are also included to provide access to breaking news in public health, such as pandemics and disaster preparedness.

Formerly ProQuest Public Health.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Interdisciplinary Sources

Web of Science Core Collection
Collection of citation databases, providing abstracts and indexing and cited reference searching to over 10,000 high impact scholarly research journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings, and covering topics in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Scopus
A very large abstract and index database of research literature and quality web sources covering the science, technology, and medicine (STM), and social sciences.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Google Scholar
You can find the Library's full text holdings in Google Scholar. Just look for the "Get it @ USask Library" link on the right side of the screen, beside each search result.
Access Note: To enable the "Get it @ USask Library" link on your home computer: On the Google Scholar page navigate to "Settings" > "Library links" > Search for University of Saskatchewan > Ensure the checkbox is marked > Save.
This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet.

College of Kinesiology Publications (PubMed)

USearch

USearch pulls together resources from multiple sources and displays them in a single list of relevance-ranked results (much like a Google search).

Because it searches multiple sources, you may see an overwhelming number of results for your initial search. Use the filters on the left side of the results screen to refine your search by peer-reviewed, format, date, available online, etc.

Search results can include both items the library has and items you can request from other libraries through interlibrary loan.