Toxicology: Find Articles
USearch
Not sure which database to start looking in? USearch is a cross-platform search tool that allows you to search the Library Catalogue and a variety of databases at the same time. Your search results will include material from the Library's online and print collections.
Keywords v.s. Subject Headings
Keywords and Subject Headings are both useful tools when searching. Some databases don't have Subject Headings, so identifying keywords and synonyms is an important part of searching.
Additional help:
- Formulating Your Search StrategyUSask Library guide that takes you through the steps in developing your search strategy.
Key Toxicology Databases
The University Library subscribes to many article indexing databases in all disciplines. The following are those which are most useful in finding articles on topics in toxicology. For a complete list of all databases provided by the library, visit the A-Z List of electronic resources.
(Note: Databases index thousands of journals, the library does not subscribe to every title that the database indexes - click on the FindIt button beside each article to check if we have access)
Multi-Disciplinary Databases:
- Web of Science Core Collection
Collection of citation databases, providing abstracts and indexing and cited reference searching to over 10,000 high impact scholarly research journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings, and covering topics in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- ScopusA very large abstract and index database of research literature and quality web sources covering the science, technology, and medicine (STM), and social sciences.
Disciplinary-Specific Databases:
- EMBASE: Excerpta Medica & EMBASE ClassicA major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing "international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation." There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. Includes the archive, EMBASE Classic back to 1947. EMBASE Excerpta Medica Database (EMBASE) is a subset of EMBASE.
- CABI: CAB Abstracts & CAB Abstracts ArchiveAgriculture, forestry, and biosciences literature from over 140 countries. Can be searched as a sub-set of Web of Science Core Collection.
- GreenFILEFocuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with an emphasis on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
- MEDLINE: Ovid MEDLINE
Major bibliographic database for clinical medicine, including: internal medicine, general medicine, primary care, family medicine, and general practice, as well as: veterinary medicine, nursing, allied health, dentistry, and pre-clinical sciences.
Access Note: Internet Explorer versions 8, 9, and 10 will not be supported after December 31, 2018. - PubMedCovers the fields of "medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences".
- ReaxysA "web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions." It is is "based on data from Elsevier's industry leading chemistry databases (CrossFire Beilstein, CrossFire Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Database) now merged together to provide harmonized content." It indexes core chemistry journals covering organic, metalloroganic, and inorganic chemistry, as well as organic patent publications.
- Compendex and Engineering Index BackfileA "comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research... containing references and abstracts to over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented." Also includes the Engineering Index online backfile from 1884-1969. See also EI Engineering Villiage.
Please Note: Arrangements for permission to text and data mine this resource can be made with the publisher. Contact the library at USask EResources in advance to arrange these permissions. - Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)CBCA subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference) cover current events, culture, business, education, history, language, government etc. Sources include scholarly journals, magazines, dissertations, books, newspapers, news services and magazines.
Formerly CBCA Complete: Canadian Business & Current Affairs.
Note: For Newspaper text see Canadian Newsstream (formerly Canadian Newsstand) or Proquest databases option to add it to CBCA.
Additional Databases
- Google ScholarLook for the "FindIt!" or "FullText" links on the right side of the screen beside each search result to access the Library's full text holdings. To enable "FindIt!" on your home computer:
Under the hamburger menu icon on the Google Scholar page select "Settings" > "Library links". Search for University of Saskatchewan. Mark all 3 checkboxes > Save.
Evaluating Journals
- Journal Citation ReportsComprehensive resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals and more than 3,300 publishers in 80 countries. Part of the Web of Knowledge.
- Ulrichsweb.com: Ulrich's Periodicals DirectoryAn authoritative knowledgebase of information about more than 300,000 serials of all types from around the world from academic and scholarly journals, peer-reviewed titles, open access journals, online publications, newspapers and other resources. Bibliographic records provide details including ISSN and title, publisher, online availability, language, subject area, abstracting & indexing coverage, searchable tables of contents, and full-text reviews.