Toxicology: Reference Books
Reference Books, Handbooks, and Guides
Casarett and Doull's Toxicology by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781259863752Publication Date: 2019 (9th ed.)
Encyclopedia of Environmental Health by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780444639523Publication Date: 2019 (2nd ed)
Sittig's Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemicals and Carcinogens by
Sittig's Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemicals and Carcinogens, Seventh Edition, has proven to be a reliable, accessible, must-have reference on hazardous materials for over thirty years. This updated and revised seventh edition is the most comprehensive listing of the hazardous chemicals commonly used, transported, and regulated in industry and the workplace. Information is the most vital resource anyone can have when dealing with potential hazardous substance accidents, spillages, fires, or acts of terror. It is also essential for the safe day-to-day operation of chemical processes and environmental protection. Sittig's Handbook provides extensive data for over 2,200 chemicals in a uniform format, enabling fast and accurate decisions in any situation. The chemicals are presented alphabetically and classified as a carcinogen, hazardous substance, hazardous waste, or toxic pollutant. This new edition contains expanded and reviewed information for each chemical listed (including chemicals classified as WMD) and has been updated to keep pace with world events, standards, and regulations. This seventh edition includes over 100 new records, and every single record has been checked and updated as necessary. Enables readers to quickly and reliably find the chemical they are looking for, with a full range of synonyms for each chemical, including trade names and CAS index Features relevant data for the US and EU included throughout, along with the essential chemical hazard information applicable worldwide Provides a trusted source of information for first-line responders (emergency services), industry, logistics companies, scientists, and environmental protection organizations Contains expanded information for each chemical listed (including chemicals classified as WMD) and has been updated to keep pace with world events, standards, and regulations
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780323389693Publication Date: 2017-06-05
Encyclopedia of Toxicology by
The third edition of the Encyclopedia of Toxicology presents entries devoted to key concepts and specific chemicals, and is updated to reflect current advances in the field. It contains new information on nanotoxicology, epigenetics, persistent organic pollutants, computational toxicology and bioinformatics, controversial chemicals, and much more. Along with the traditional scientific entries, new articles focus on worldwide initiatives, the potential health and environmental effects of new technologies, and the societal implications of global legal and regulatory issues. With thoroughly updated articles, references, and resources for recommended reading, the third edition has been expanded in length, breadth, and depth, and continues to provide an extensive overview of the many facets of toxicology. Provides easy access to content on chemicals and all core areas of toxicology Thoroughly updated with the latest advances in toxicology, including epigenetics, nanotoxicology, computational toxicology, and translational toxicology New topics include implications of global legal and regulatory issues, persistent organic pollutants, REACH, SAICM, e-waste, and many more
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780123864550Publication Date: 2014 (3rd ed.)
Encyclopedic Reference of Immunotoxicology by
This work provides rapid access to focused information on topics of Immunotoxicology not only for scientists and those dealing with laboratory aspects but also for lecturers and advanced students. Over 200 contributing authors - including many of the world's top specialists - have contributed full essays on all relevant topics, supplemented by keyword definitions of related terms. Full essays are structured uniformly to provide reader-friendly information on all aspects of Immunotoxicology, including methods of testing and analysis, characteristics of substances, the regulatory environment and the relevance of these to humans. The single A-Z format of both types of entry makes this reference book very easy to use. The Encyclopedic Reference of Immunotoxicology is intended to be a comprehensive work of reference which will provide easy access to relevant information in the fast-growing field of Immunotoxicology.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9783540278061Publication Date: 2006-09-21
Encyclopedia of Clinical Toxicology by
Compactly written and easy to read, Encyclopedia of Clinical Toxicology is designed for quick reference and retrieval of vital, even life-saving information about the effects, interactions, and lethal doses of thousands of toxic substances that can destroy or seriously endanger health, or even cause death. An authoritative and an unmatched resource, it stands alone as the quintessential reference for all work in this field and supplies material documented nowhere else in published texts. The book not only contains information otherwise impossible to find, but also describes adverse effects and interactions often not reported by manufacturers, and not published in PDRs and the other standard compendia. The author, Dr. Irving S. Rossoff, is renowned for his detailed knowledge of clinical toxicology derived from a long and extensive background in medical practice, homicide investigations and forensic science, and as a consultant on many continents to drug and chemical manufacturers, research laboratories, pathologists, coroners, governments, and courts. Based on material drawn from Dr. Rossoff's massive databank of more than 100,000 subject folders compiled over the past 60 years, the book includes actual case reports that elucidate toxic events and therapy. Encycolpedia of Clinical Toxicology provides you with a wealth of information on a vast range of substances.
Call Number: RA1193 .R67 2002ISBN: 1842141015Publication Date: 2001-12-28
Illustrated Handbook of Toxicology by
Gain practical knowledge of the entire field of toxicology with this beautifully illustrated guide The Illustrated Handbook of Toxicology is an impressive introduction to the complex field of toxicology. It also serves as a hands-on guide to various poison treatments and offers supplemental public health information. Each two-page unit features concise text on the left complemented by full-color illustrations on the opposing page. The expert author distinguishes harmful toxic substances and catalogues their specific effects on the human body, plants, animals, and the surrounding environment. The handbook also addresses cutting-edge topics, including biological warfare, modern toxicological methods, and threshold values. Features: Succinct, user-friendly organization allows readers to navigate the content with ease Over 500 detailed images and diagrams arranged on 150 full-color plates illu strate exposures and toxicological effects on humans, plants, and animals Well-researched, objective risk analysis on toxic exposures accompanies relevant images Extensive glossary of key toxicological terms provides readers with the accurate information they need to avoid dangerous confusion This is the ideal text for all medical students who want to supplement the toxicological information covered in their coursework, as well as for first responders to chemical accidents and poisonings.
Call Number: RA1215 .I.45 2011ISBN: 9783131269218Publication Date: 2010-12-15
