Animal and Poultry Science: Find Journal Articles

Finding Journal Articles

To find journal articles, you must consult databases.

Databases

contain information from published works
are searchable
provide either citation information or full-text articles
can be subject/topic specific or multidisciplinary

Visit the guide Finding Journal Articles for in-depth information on how to search a library database or contact your liaison librarian, Virginia Wilson (virginia.wilson@usask.ca), for assistance.

When you search the databases and get a list of results, click on the yellow Find It button to see if the library has access to the full text of the article. If you come across an article that the library doesn't have access to, you can obtain it through our Interlibrary Loan service. This service is free to faculty, students, and staff at USask. Find the submission form here:

Interlibrary Loan

Search Strategy Builder

The Search Strategy Builder is a tool designed to teach you how to create a search string using Boolean logic. While it is not a database and is not designed to input a search, you should be able to cut and paste the results into the standard database search boxes.

Write out your research question or topic thesis as a sentence.

Concept 1

AND

Concept 2

AND

Concept 3

Extract the major concepts from your sentence above and enter them here.

List alternatives for each concept.

These can be synonyms, or they can be specific examples of the concept.

Use single words or short phrases.

Find additional terms in abstracts and summaries of the articles, books, and other sources you find during initial searches.

Search terms

or

or

or

or

Search Strategy Builder created by University of Arizona Libraries and is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

CABI: CAB Abstracts & CAB Abstracts Archive
Index and abstract database to agriculture, forestry, and biosciences literature, including: journals, books, conference proceedings, reports, and patents. Includes literature from over 140 countries in more than 40 languages. Part of the Web of Knowledge.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Web of Science Core Collection
Collection of citation databases, providing abstracts and indexing and cited reference searching to over 10,000 high impact scholarly research journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings, and covering topics in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
MEDLINE: Ovid MEDLINE
Major bibliographic database for clinical medicine, including: internal medicine, general medicine, primary care, family medicine, and general practice, as well as: veterinary medicine, nursing, allied health, dentistry, and pre-clinical sciences.
Access Note: Internet Explorer versions 8, 9, and 10 will not be supported after December 31, 2018.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Scopus
A very large abstract and index database of research literature and quality web sources covering the science, technology, and medicine (STM), and social sciences.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Zoological Record
The world's leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology, considered the world's unofficial register of animal names. Coverage extends back to 1864. Part of the Web of Knowledge.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ScienceDirect
Science Direct is a portal to scholarly journals, book series, and ebooks published by Elsevier and affiliated publishers primarily covering science, technology, and medicine and the social sciences.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users (at fixed computer terminals in the library), for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

PubMed
Index and abstract database covering the fields of "medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. It includes access to MEDLINE and to citations for selected articles in life science journals not included in MEDLINE. ..[It] also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources."
Access Note: As of July 2021, in order to access your personal MyNCBI account for saved search strategies, etc. you must authenticate via third-party Multi-Factor-Authentication. Please use the link below to choose which third-party option is best for you.
https://ncbiinsights.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/my-ncbi-login-transition-tips/#choosing. If you just wish to search PubMed for locating resources then no further login is required.
This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.To access full text, you must authenticate with your NSID.

SciFinder is the most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. It is the online version of "Chemical Abstracts" produced by CAS - a division of the ACS. Always access SciFinder through the links on this library website to be properly authenticated. This database is only available to current faculty, staff, and students.

IMPORTANT: You must register for a personal account with SciFinder before you can access: online registration form. The email you register with must be your usask email.

SciFinder Training Materials

BioOne Journals
A collection of high-impact, peer-reviewed, scholarly journals and bulletins from small societies and non-commercial publishers covering the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences, plus high quality open access journals.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Ecological Society of American Journals
There are 7 titles available from Ecological Society of America

Nature
Access to Springer Nature Publishing electronic journals and services publications that the Library subscribes to, including: Nature, Nature Archives, Nature Academic & Society Journals, Nature Chemistry,Nature Clinical Practice Journals, Nature Research Journals and Archive, Nature Reviews, and the news@nature.com service. Patrons can self-register to access additional services such as electronic alerts.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Canadian Science Publishing Journals
Collection of 15 electronic journals published by NRC Research Press (National Research Council Canada) and 11 journals from client publishers, covering biological and natural sciences topics.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Sage Journals
Journal articles in business, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences.
<p>Your browser does not support iframes.</p>

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Springer Nature Link
A portal to Springer (and the former Kluwer Academic Publishers) electronic journals, electronic books, book series, and reference works. Beginning in 2013, SpringerLink now includes the ADIS International Complete Collection, to which the University of Saskatchewan licenses partial access. Effective July 25, 2018 SpringerProtocols content is being hosted on SpringerLink platform.
Access Note: to access titles the University of Saskatchewan Library has purchased access to, uncheck the box beside "Include Preview-Only content" at the top of the left menu column.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Zoonoses and Public Health
Volume 61, Issue S1
Special Issue:Systematic Reviews and Meta‐Analysis in Animal Agriculture and Veterinary Medicine
Pages: 1-63
June 2014
Synthesis Review Toolkit - USask Library and SCPOR
An introduction to synthesis reviews by looking at their component parts and offering the guidance to embark on a review.
What type of review is right for you?
A synthesis review decision tree flow-chart.
Gray Literature Resources for Agriculture Evidence Syntheses

Animal and Poultry Science: Find Journal Articles

Off-Campus Proxy Bookmarklet

Bookmarks/Favourites bar instructions for:

Finding Journal Articles

Search Strategy Builder