Food Security
Guide for resources dealing with food security around the world.
Resources
Databases
The following databases are powerful tools to search for journal articles on your topic, providing a number of ways to refine your search. These may return results beyond what would be shown on the USearch page. See the Search Tips box for help with refining your topic terms or Boolean operators.
- Web of Science Core Collection
Collection of citation databases, providing abstracts and indexing and cited reference searching to over 10,000 high impact scholarly research journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings, and covering topics in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- AGRICOLAA bibliographic database covering agriculture and life sciences, primarily in English, but with some content in other languages. Includes citations for journal articles, theses, translations, monographs, proceedings, and technical reports. Content is updated monthly.
- ABI/INFORM CollectionBusiness collection includes articles from journals, magazines and newspapers (Wall Street Journal); business/economics dissertations, country profiles, Business Monitor and First Research market research reports etc. The Economist articles (text only) are here.
Formerly ABI/INFORM Complete.
Access Note: Browse option features market research/country report series. - EconLitThis database is published by the American Economic Association and provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books and dissertations, EconLit covers both economic theory and application. Also included are full-text of book reviews published in the Journal of Economic Literature since 1993.Journal of Economic Literature.
- Political Science Complete (PSC)Political Science Complete contains scholarly journals, full-text of reference books, monographs and conference papers covering political topics with a global focus. Subjects include: comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.
High impact journals available through the University of Saskatchewan library.
A selection of books on a number of topics related to food security. For further selection, consider searching the library catalogue.
The Role of Functional Food Security in Global Health by
The Role of Functional Food Security in Global Health presents a collective approach to food security through the use of functional foods as a strategy to prevent under nutrition and related diseases. This approach reflects the views of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, the World Health Organization, the World Heart Federation and the American Heart Association who advise Mediterranean, Paleolithic, plant food based diets, and European vegetarian diets for the prevention of cardiovascular disease. In addition, the book also emphasizes the inclusion of spices, herbs and millets, as well as animal foods. This book will be a great resource to the food industry as it presents the most efficient ways to use technology to manufacture slowly absorbed, micronutrient rich functional foods by blending foods that are rich in healthy nutrients. Provides greater knowledge on functional food security Highlights the necessary changes to the western diet that are needed to achieve food security Explains the utility and necessity of functional food security in the prevention of noncommunicable diseases Presents policy changes in food production for farmers and the larger food industry Offers suggestions on what can be done to enhance functional food production while simultaneously decreasing production costs
ISBN: 9780128131497Publication Date: 2018-11-02
Food Security and Sustainability by
This edited volume brings together contributions from experts on a range of food security issues, and examines them through a number of case studies. A Millennium Development goal and important policy concern, food security is experiencing renewed interest due to globalisation, which has led to population affluence, changing consumption, and production and trade patterns. The authors discuss how globalisation brings a new dimension to the discussion on public policy on food security, and consider the extent to which Global Value Chains (GVCs) dominate trade, investment and international agricultural markets. Food Security and Sustainability therefore sheds new light on the nexus of food security and globalization, as well as its implications for investment and financing in the agro-food sector. The volume draws on papers presented at the inaugural Workshop of the Mediterranean Center for Food Security and Sustainable Growth (MED-SEC), an international network of academics focusing on issues of development, sustainability and food security.
ISBN: 9783319407890Publication Date: 2016-12-15
Legumes for Global Food Security by
Legumes are an essential food crop and a relevant source of plant-based proteins for humans around the globe, and particularly in developing countries. Grain legumes are highly nutritious and have excellent nutraceutical properties; these are affordable foods contributing to household food safety and, as a result, offer great hope and opportunity for achieving future global feed and food security. There is no doubt that facing an increasing world population over the next 50 years, the implementation of future research strategies and programs on legume productivity by harnessing scientific expertise and emerging molecular tools is of great importance to develop high-yielding legume varieties with enhanced multiple beneficial qualities and to tackle human diseases, using both traditional breeding and biotechnology methods. Grain legumes enhance the sustainability of cropping systems by increasing soil fertility through biological nitrogen fixation. They are adapted to diverse climates, thus providing solutions to climate change. Improved varieties having heat and drought tolerance are able to overcome abiotic stresses, offering even more hope for crop stability in vulnerable regions as well as against pests and diseases that cause significant production losses, making them a central component of sustainable intensification efforts on millions of small and poor farms. This book provides an innovative contribution for people working with legumes in different fields such as agriculture, crop improvement, health promoting aspects, pest and disease fighting, and the overall scientific community, giving them an updated and global vision about the importance of legumes for the worlds greatest challenge in global feed and food future under a sustainable agriculture. The book includes the following topics: Legume germplasm; Increasing legume production to improve food security, nutrition food safe, environmental benefits and economy; Legumes and climate change; Pests and disease management; Nutritional improvement of legumes; Legumes health benefits; Legumes allergy research.
ISBN: 9781536122657Publication Date: 2017-07-28
Transforming Gender and Food Security in the Global South by
Drawing on studies from Africa, Asia and South America, this book provides empirical evidence and conceptual explorations of the gendered dimensions of food security. It investigates how food security and gender inequity are conceptualized within interventions, assesses the impacts and outcomes of gender-responsive programs on food security and gender equity and addresses diverse approaches to gender research and practice that range from descriptive and analytical to strategic and transformative. The chapters draw on diverse theoretical perspectives, including transformative learning, feminist theory, deliberative democracy and technology adoption. As a result, they add important conceptual and empirical material to a growing literature on the challenges of gender equity in agricultural production. A unique feature of this book is the integration of both analytic and transformative approaches to understanding gender and food security. The analytic material shows how food security interventions enable women and men to meet the long-term nutritional needs of their households, and to enhance their economic position. The transformative chapters also document efforts to build durable and equitable relationships between men and women, addressing underlying social, cultural and economic causes of gender inequality. Taken together, these combined approaches enable women and men to reflect on gendered divisions of labor and resources related to food, and to reshape these divisions in ways which benefit families and communities. Co-published with the International Development Research Centre.
ISBN: 9781138680418Publication Date: 2016-10-10
Food Sovereignty in Canada by
Employing an interdisciplinary and multifaceted approach, this book explores how communities all over the country are actively engaged in implementing alternative agricultural and food models within the framework of food sovereignty: taking control of food-producing resources, markets, and agricultural policy. This reference offers the opportunity to build alternative agricultural and food models that are less environmentally damaging and that keep farmers on the land while ensuring that those living in cities have access to healthy and safe food. Acknowledging that achieving food sovereignty requires conceptual and practical changes, reshaping menus, farming, communities, relationships, values, and policy, it is clearly demonstrated how the urgent work of building food sovereignty is well under way. Through case studies of practical action, an analysis is provided of indigenous food sovereignty, orderly marketing, community gardens, the political engagement of nutritionists, experiences with urban agriculture, and the strengthening of links between rural and urban communities. Policy-related challenges to building community-based agriculture and food systems that are ecologically sustainable and socially just are also highlighted.
ISBN: 9781552664438Publication Date: 2012-03-01
Sustainable Food Futures by
Securing sustainable food for everyone is one of the world's most pressing challenges, but research, policy, and programmes remain fragmented, and effective solutions have been slow to emerge. This book takes on these challenges by proposing a range of solutions that can advance pathways towards sustainable food futures. Complete with recipes, this book is structured so that readers are taken in a logical progression through discussions of solutions, highlighting the need to recognise the importance of place and the importance of participation, and to challenge dominant descriptions of markets, through to re-designing food systems. The solutions presented in this book are based on real-world cases, but discussions remain deliberately broad to encourage thinking in new ways. Cases are drawn from Africa, Asia, Europe, and North and South America. The book is of relevance to those interested in sustainable food futures, and can serve as a supplementary textbook for a wide range of courses in food studies and related disciplines. lementary textbook for a wide range of courses in food studies and related disciplines.
ISBN: 9781138206168Publication Date: 2017-08-16
Public Policies for Food Sovereignty by
An increasing number of rural and urban-based movements are realizing some political traction in their demands for democratization of food systems through food sovereignty. Some are pressuring to institutionalize food sovereignty principles and practices through laws, policies, and programs. While the literature on food sovereignty continues to grow in volume and complexity, there are a number of key questions that need to be examined more deeply. These relate specifically to the processes and consequences of seeking to institutionalize food sovereignty: What dimensions of food sovereignty are addressed in public policies and which are left out? What are the tensions, losses and gains for social movements engaging with sub-national and national governments? How can local governments be leveraged to build autonomous spaces against state and corporate power? The contributors to this book analyze diverse institutional processes related to food sovereignty, ranging from community-supported agriculture to food policy councils, direct democracy initiatives to constitutional amendments, the drafting of new food sovereignty laws to public procurement programmes, as well as Indigenous and youth perspectives, in a variety of contexts including Brazil, Ecuador, Spain, Switzerland, UK, Canada, USA, and Africa. Together, the contributors to this book discuss the political implications of integrating food sovereignty into existing liberal political structures, and analyze the emergence of new political spaces and dynamics in response to interactions between state governance systems and social movements voicing the radical demands of food sovereignty. from community-supported agriculture to food policy councils, direct democracy initiatives to constitutional amendments, the drafting of new food sovereignty laws to public procurement programmes, as well as Indigenous and youth perspectives, in a variety of contexts including Brazil, Ecuador, Spain, Switzerland, UK, Canada, USA, and Africa. Together, the contributors to this book discuss the political implications of integrating food sovereignty into existing liberal political structures, and analyze the emergence of new political spaces and dynamics in response to interactions between state governance systems and social movements voicing the radical demands of food sovereignty.
ISBN: 9781138240957Publication Date: 2017-09-07
A Land Not Forgotten by
Food insecurity takes a disproportionate toll on the health of Canada's Indigenous people. "A Land Not Forgotten" examines the disruptions in local food practices as a result of colonization and the cultural, educational, and health consequences of those disruptions. This multidisciplinary work demonstrates how some Indigenous communities in northern Ontario areaddressing challenges to food security through the restoration of land-based cultural practices.Improving Indigenous health, food security, and sovereignty means reinforcing practices that build resiliency in ecosystems and communities. As this book contends, this includes facilitating productive collaborations and establishing networks of Indigenous communities and allies to work together in promotion and protection of Indigenous food systems. This willinfluence diverse groups and encourage them to recognize the complexity of colonial histories and the destructive health impacts in Indigenous communities.In addition to its multidisciplinary lens, the authors employ a community based participatory approach that privileges Indigenous interests and perspectives. "A Land Not Forgotten" provides a comprehensive picture of the food security and health issues Indigenous peoples are encountering in Canada's rural north.
ISBN: 9780887555176Publication Date: 2017-04-12
Reports
Reports prepared by organizations to provide an overview of the current state of food security in Canada or internationally.
- Individual and Household Food SecurityDietitians of Canada
Data Resources
A few data resources are provided here, but it may be useful to reference the Data and Statistics guides.
Organization Web Pages
These web pages are created by a variety of organizations, each advocating for their particular viewpoint on food security and food sovereignty. Be advised that these pages are useful to understand different opinions on the topic, but may not constitute an authoritative source.
- Food FirstThe Institute for Food and Development Policy
- La Via CampesinaInternational Peasant's Movement