Physician Assistant Studies: Critical Appraisal
Checklists & Tools
Critical Appraisal Checklists
- CASP UK (Critical Appraisal Skills Program)
- JBI
Critical appraisal checklists for many types of studies
- Centre for Evidence Based Medicine
- AMSTAR 2 -- for appraisal of systematic reviews of randomized controlled trials, non-randomized studies, or both
Other
- Cochrane Collaboration Risk of Bias Tools
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions - Chapter 8
- GRADE(system for evaluating the strength of evidence)
Grade Working Group. Scroll down to "Quick" to see the publications that will give you an overview of the system.
Learning Critical Appraisal Skills
Listed below are a few resources that may be helpful in learning how to critically appraise an article.
-
JAMAevidence
Uses evidence-based medicine to help decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care."
-
How to Read a Paper
by
Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
Call Number: R118.6 .G77 2019ISBN: 9781119484745Publication Date: 2019-05-06 -
Critical Appraisal from Papers to Patient
by
Having an understanding of critical appraisal and evidence-based medicine is a prerequisite to being an effective clinician. However, critical appraisal is often taught by people not involved in day-to-day clinical care, meaning the clinical relevance is not always brought to the fore. This book takes a different approach. It is written by clinicians, for clinicians. It takes the reader step by step through the process so that any journal article can be easily read, evidence evaluated and the results - and their reliability - truly understood. By integrating this with knowledge of local skills and resources and patient preference, the reader will be able to apply the best possible care that his or her patients deserve. This accessible book is suitable for undergraduates and postgraduates of all medical specialties, nursing, paramedics, pharmacists and all allied health professions. It is the ideal reference for anyone needing help writing a clinical topic review, reviewing a paper in a journal club or preparing for a critical appraisal exam. But most importantly, it is essential for those who wish to practice medicine in the best possible way for their patients, using the best evidence, tailored to the individual.
Call Number: R723.7 .B66 2017ISBN: 9781482230451Publication Date: 2017-02-02 -
Evidence-Based Medicine Toolkit
by
This bestselling pocket guide to the skills of evidence-based medicine succeeds in demystifying the terminology and processes in a handy and easy-to-follow format, all within the space of 100 pages. With an improved layout, this second edition of Evidence-based Medicine Toolkit offers more up-to-date guidance as well as new sections on important areas of research. New features of this second edition include: A box for each major database showing how to search the evidence, and highlighting the differences between them Flow charts for different study types New critical appraisal sections on qualitative research and economic evaluation Expanded list of EBM resources on the net. With these added features to make the job easier, the new Toolkit is now an even better companion for all health care professionals using evidence-based methodology in their research and practice.
Call Number: R723.7 .H46 2006ISBN: 9780727918413Publication Date: 2006-04-14 -
Making Sense of Critical Appraisal
by
Making Sense of Critical Appraisal provides all the necessary information on how to read and understand medical research publications critically and to decide whether the contents of such publications are clinically useful in the care of patients. Illustrated throughout with medically relevant examples, this text covers all aspects of study design and clinical audit to give a clear framework for critical reading. Key Features: * Provides a framework for practicing evidence-based medicine *Easy-to-use exam-oriented text covers the key aspects of critical appraisal * Highly readable with simple explanations and memorable clinical examples * Study design includes prospective, retrospective, randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews * Includes a glossary of epidemiological and statistical terms and definitions * A special 'non-essential statistics' section to explore the statistical concepts in more detail
Call Number: R852 .A34 2002ISBN: 0340808128Publication Date: 2002-10-24 -
Critical Appraisal of Epidemiological Studies and Clinical Trials
by
This book presents a logical system of critical appraisal, to allow readers to evaluate studies and to carry out their own studies more effectively. This system emphasizes the central importance of cause and effect relationships. Its great strength is that it is applicable to a wide range ofissues, and both to intervention trials and observational studies.This system unifies the often different approaches used in epidemiology, health services research, clinical trials, and Oxford Handbook of Clinical Dentistry 6th edition1. History and examination2 Preventive and community dentistry3. Paediatric dentistry4. Orthodontics5. Restorative Dentistry 1: Periodontology6. Restorative Dentistry 2: repairing teeth7. Restorative Dentistry 3: Replacing teeth8. Restorative Dentistry 4: Endodontics9. Oral surgery10. Oral medicine11. Maxillofacial surgery12. Medicine relevant to dentistry13. Therapeutics14. Analgesia,anae sthesia, and sedation15. Dental materials16. Law and ethics17. Professionalism and communication18. Practice management19. Syndromes of the head and neck20. Useful information and addressesOxford Assess and Progress: Clinical Dentistry1. Anatomy of the Head and Neck, Nicholas Longridge2. Preventative and Paediatric Dentistry, Nicholas Longridge3. Orthodontics, Nadia Ahmed4. Periodontics, Pete Clarke5. Endodontics, Nicholas Longridgeretrospective cohort study, a small matched case-control study, and a large case-control study. In these chapters, sections of the original papers are reproduced and the original studies placed in context by a summary of current developments.
Call Number: RA652.4 .E483 2007ISBN: 9780199218257Publication Date: 2008-02-01
