Physician Assistant Studies: Find Books

Find books

All of our print books and nearly all our e-books are listed in the Catalogue. You can also search our Library's e-books packages directly; the most important ones in medicine are listed below.

If you would like to have print books or other physical materials mailed to you, please sign up for Distance and Distributed Library Services.

The Physician Assistant Student's Guide to the Clinical Year Seven-Volume Set by Maureen A. Knechtel
ISBN: 9780826195210

Covers all 7 clinical rotations including Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, Emergency Medicine, Pediatrics, Surgery, Obstetrics and Gynecology, and Behavioral Health. Brimming with pithy information on the precise knowledge and duties required of a physician assistant, you will learn about practice settings, equipment, exam techniques, frequently encountered disease entities, commonly ordered studies and medications, procedures, and more!

AccessMedicine
Collection of core medical titles with thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, and the ability to download content to a mobile device.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
AccessCase Files
**NEW in September 2025!!**
Updated regularly, this comprehensive case collection helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases. The collection features the complete collection of basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases from 23 Case Files series books (such as anatomy, pharmacology, emergency medicine, family medicine, internal medicine, ob/gyn, pediatrics, psychiatry, and surgery), and the personalized functionality to let users mark their progress through completed and unseen cases

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Clinical Key
Large collection of medical and surgical ebooks published by Elsevier, medical videos and images. Includes Ballweg's Physician Assistant.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Premium Basic Sciences
Interactive online access to textbooks on core/fundamental topics, plus procedural videos, images, real-life case studies, and quiz banks for medical and health science students and practitioners.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law. .
Books@Ovid

Collection of ebooks covering the health sciences, including medicine, nursing and pharmacology. Includes the full text, references, updates, and graphics of these sources, giving quick access to crucial diagnostic, research, and reference information.
Access Note: Some eBook titles have limits on simultaneous users.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
TDS Health
Reference materials on medical, pharmaceutical, and dental topics including diagnosis, treatment, drug interaction and use.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
AccessAnesthesiology
Collection of anesthesiology references, research, and curricular instruction.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
AccessEmergency Medicine
Collection of resources providing quick diagnosis and treatment answers for a wide variety of complaints encountered in an emergency department.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
AccessObGyn
Collection of obstetrics and gynecology references, research, sonography videos and cases, and Williams animations.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
AccessPediatrics
Pediatrics education and training resources featuring pediatrics textbooks, multimedia, Q&A, algorithms, case studies, and more.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
AccessPhysiotherapy
Comprehensive resource for physiotherapy with textbooks, modalities, videos/animation, and lectures on neuroscience in physical therapy

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
AccessSurgery

Collection of reference works, including surgical videos, surgical animations, textbooks, surgical atlas, board review, and quick reference.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

DSM-5 Library
Content from 3 DSM current edition textbooks: DSM-5, DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and DSM-5 Clinical Cases.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology Online

An online resource based on Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology and The Prescriber's Guide with added content and functionality.
Access Note: Self-register and login using your free username and password for access to expanded functionality: bookmark important pages, write and save sticky-notes, and save your selected images to My Images for quick reference.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Dictionaries

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary

Stedman's Medical Dictionary

You can also find these titles and others in print in the reference area (close to the tables on the main floor of the library near the windows), or look in the stacks (regular shelves) under R121 for dictionaries that you can check out.

Here is a free online Medical Terminology Textbook.