Art & Art History: Home
Welcome
Welcome to the Art & Art History guide. Use this guide to get oriented to Library resources and services, find information, or get help with your research questions.
As the Liaison Librarian for the Art & Art History, I can provide a wide range of library services to students and faculty, including library instruction, research assistance / consultations, selecting print and online resources, promoting information literacy, developing instructional support, etc.
Need help with something else? Please feel welcome to contact me and I will do my best to assist you.
Image credit: David Thauberger, Summer Drift, 2018, acrulic on canvas, 91.4 x 116.8 cm, The McCreath Canoe Collection. https://shop.remaimodern.org/products/summer-drift-by-david-thauberger-greeting-card
Key Resources
Find articles
- Art Full Text and Art Index RetrospectiveSearch across both Art Full Text (AFT) and Art Index Retrospective (AIR) bibliographic databases in a single search. AFT & AIR index articles, art reproductions, and provide article abstracts for periodicals and art dissertations, including peer-reviewed journals.
Access Note: To search AFT or AIR separately, or cross-search other EBSCOhost interface databases such as: Art Museum Image Gallery, select Choose Databases from the EBSCOhost interface search screen and revise your database choices.
Find background information to help shape and define your research
- Oxford Art Online: OAOGateway to Oxford art reference works. It permits access and cross-searching in one location. The Library has licenses to the following works: The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Michael Clarke and Deborah Clarke, 2001 edition, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Edited by Michael Kelly, 1998 edition, The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Edited by Hugh Brigstocke 2001 edition, Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Advisory editor Stephen J. Bury, based on 2006 edition. Cross-searchable with Grove Art Online.
Find images
- ARTstorA non-profit repository of digital images and associated catalog data from contributing museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
There are 3 levels of access to ARTstor:
Unregistered (Walk-in) users: No registration is required. Able to search, browse, and analyze images and data.
Registered users: ARTstor allows registered users to, save Image Groups, add personal notes to images, and download the Offline Image Viewer. You must register with an email address to access these services. Once registered, you can log in to your account to access these services.
Instructor-Level users This is currently restricted to faculty and staff.
Art & Art History Librarian
3 Campus Dr.
Saskatoon, SK S7N 5A4