Art & Art History: Find Images

Images

ARTstor
A non-profit repository of digital images and associated catalog data from contributing museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.

License Information: This license was negotiated by the Canadian Research Knowledge Network for its Digital Content Infrastructure Project. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, alumni patrons, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law. See the terms and conditions of use at https://www.artstor.org/our-organization/o-html/terms-of-use.shtml.
Oxford Art Online: OAO
Gateway to Oxford art reference works. It permits access and cross-searching in one location. The Library has licenses to the following works: The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Michael Clarke and Deborah Clarke, 2001 edition, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Edited by Michael Kelly, 1998 edition, The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Edited by Hugh Brigstocke 2001 edition, Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Advisory editor Stephen J. Bury, based on 2006 edition. Cross-searchable with Grove Art Online.

License Information: Access is restricted to three 2-3 simultaneous users across ALL resources accessed via this gateway. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

Google Art Project
Museums large and small, classic and modern, world-renowned and community-based from over 40 countries have contributed more than 40,000 high-resolution images of works ranging from oil on canvas to sculpture and furniture. Some paintings are available in ‘gigapixel’ format, allowing you to zoom in at brushstroke level to examine incredible detail. Use Google Street View to explore the interiors of landmarks such as the Palace of Versailles and The White House. Or, build and share your own virtual art gallery.

more... less...

https://www.youtube.com/user/GoogleArtProject
Réunion des musées nationaux
A collection of images from the national and regional museums of France, including the Louvre, Orsay, Pompidou and the Picasso Museum.
Timeline of Art History, Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Timeline of Art History is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection. Provides theme specific searches, as well as general browsing.
Your Paintings, BBC
Your Paintings is a website which aims to show the entire UK national collection of oil paintings, the stories behind the paintings, and where to see them for real. It is made up of paintings from thousands of museums and other public institutions around the UK.
Getty Search Gateway
This tool is designed to help researchers, scholars, and educators discover the variety of resources available across the Getty's collections, which include collections in each the four programs: the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, the Getty Foundation, and the Getty Research Institute. - See more at: http://search.getty.edu/gateway/about.html#sthash.xoSEEz0y.dpuf
A Guide to Little-Known Image Collections with Millions of Free, Hi-Res Images

Canadian Art Images

Art Sask
ARTSask is a visual art showcase featuring work from two major public art galleries in Saskatchewan, Canada: The MacKenzie Art Gallery and The Mendel Art Gallery.
SAIN Photographs
The Saskatchewan Archival Information Network (SAIN) is a database of descriptions of archival material held in Saskatchewan archives.
Virtual Museum of Canada
Explore Canada's rich history and culture in the Virtual Museum of Canada (VMC). You will find virtual exhibits and interactive learning resources on numerous subjects, created by Canadian museums and galleries.
Artefacts Canada
The Artefacts Canada database contains close to 4 million object records and approximately 800,000 images from Canadian museums.
CCCA Canadian Art Database Project
a significant online resource for teaching and research on Canadian Art and now includes over 62,000 images and media files, over 3,000 texts, and several projects documenting artist groups, art organizations and events.