- University Library
- Research Guides
- Subject Guides
- Art & Art History
- Find Dictionaries
Art & Art History: Find Dictionaries
Art Dictionaries
Use dictionaries for succinct and accessible explanations of art terminology.
-
Oxford Art Online: OAO
Permits access and cross-searching to various Oxford reference works including:
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
- Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
- The Oxford Companion to Western Art
- Benezit Dictionary of Artists
- Grove Art Online
More Dictionaries
-
The Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists byContains over 2,500 clear and concise entries on styles and movements, materials and techniques, and museums and galleries. It also includes biographical entries for artists, critics, collectors, dealers, and patrons, with places and full dates of birth and death.
-
A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art byContains around 2,000 clear and concise entries on all aspects of modern and contemporary art. Terms includes movements, styles, techniques, artists, critics, dealers, schools, and galleries. There are biographical entries for artists worldwide from the beginning of the 20th century through to today's globalized art world.
-
Critical Terms for Art History byCall Number: N34 .C75 2003Contains scholarly essays that explore 22 terms commonly used by contemporary art historians.
-
The Hutchinson Dictionary of Symbols in ArtA-Z dictionary of the religious and mythological themes and symbols that have influenced Western painting and sculpture.
-
Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms byCall Number: N33 .L75 2004Includes over 2000 authoritative entries and 400 illustrations, including diagrams for comprehensive treatment of architectural terms. It covers painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, the decorative, applied and graphic arts from all periods throughout the world up to the present day.
