History: North America: Find Articles & Databases

Databases

Academic Search Complete (ASC)
Major resource for undergraduate students. Includes articles about North American and world history.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
America: History & Life with Full Text (AHL)
Definitive "database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present." With selective indexing for almost 1,800 journals dating back more than 50 years this database also provides full-text coverage for 260 journals.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

More Databases

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of native culture, history and life in North America, Greenland, and eastern Siberia, including: archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)
Abstract and indexing database covering more than 1,665 scholarly journal articles, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers, news services and magazines, including 600 full text titles, covering current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information produced in Canada. Combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference).
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Gale OneFile CPI.Q
A full text database of articles from Canadian and International journals, magazines and reference content from Gale, all with a Canadian focus. Includes The Globe and Mail, Maclean's, Canadian News Facts, and reference materials, including the Canadian Parliamentary Guide and Canadian Newsmakers. The interface is bilingual (English and French).
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Gale Academic OneFile Select (GAOFS)
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this full text database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Hapi Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
An authoritative source for worldwide information about Latin American issues, including analyses of current political, economic, and social issues, as well as coverage of arts and letters. Includes some full text.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
JSTOR
Fulltext archive of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences, as well as 19th century British pamphlets. A unique e-journal database of complete backfiles of core scholarly journals in the arts and sciences. Current issues of the e-journal may be available direct from the publisher or through another e-journal aggregator such as Project MUSE. JSTOR and Project MUSE have enabled reciprocal linking for titles held in common so that users may access both current and archive holdings.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
PAIS Index
Abstract and Index bibliographic database covering public affairs, public and social policies, international relations. It has an archive going back to 1915.

Formerly PAIS International & PAIS Archive.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)
Through Web of Science. 1956 - present.
Covers over 2,474 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. Also covers individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,500 of the world's leading science and technology journals.
more...less...
Access Note: By default all five sub-databases are searched. To select just the SSCI, make sure that it's the only one checked off under Current Limits - Citation Databases.

Historical Newspapers & Periodicals

Indigenous Newspapers in North America
(Formerly American Indian Newspapers) Indigenous Newspapers in North America aims to present a diverse and robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. Representing a large range in style, production, and audience, the 45 unique newspaper titles include national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications. In addition to English language publishing, the collection contains bilingual and Indigenous language editions, including Cherokee, Lakota, and Chinook.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Canadian Newsstream: Major Dailies
Major Canadian dailies, news sources, and newspapers from across Canada. Formerly Canadian Newsstand.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
New York Times
The online version of the New York Times includes the same articles, features, and images that appear in the print edition, as well as an array of additional still image, video, audio, and data content. Content includes the current online edition, and searchable archive to the papers' inception in 1851.
Access Note: Users must register and create a personal account for access through the library's subscription to the New York Times in Education program. Instructions--Go to: https://www.nytimes.com/activate-access/edu-access; Search for and select University of Saskatchewan from the list of schools; Click "Create Account" and complete fields: You must use a valid USASK email address (usask.ca); Verify your account through email message--you will receive a confirmation email to complete setup. NOTE: Individual registration expires and must be renewed.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
An archive of over 750 historically respected journals in the humanities and social sciences, covering over 200 years of content. Each issue is digitized cover to cover, showing the content on each page.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail
The electronic full-page newspaper archive from June 1844. Coverage includes all the stories, plus thousands of images, advertisements, classifieds, political cartoons, births and deaths from Canada's National Newspaper.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times
A full-text and full-image newspaper archive, with content from 1851-2014, digitized from microfilm. The paper is searchable from cover to cover, including images, advertisements, and articles. Each page is available as a downloadable PDF.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Leader-Post
This historical newspaper features full-page images of the newspaper pages as they were published, including the advertisements. It is digitized at the page-level and is fully searchable by keyword. It covers the period of 1883-2010.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Saskatoon Star-Phoenix
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1902 - 2009
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Toronto Star
A fully digitized and searchable online archive database of the Toronto Star newspaper since 1894.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Saskatchewan News Index
Index to articles in selected Saskatchewan newspapers from 1884-2000 (coverage of the period is not complete), compiled by a group of Saskatchewan cultural institutions. Coverage is limited to stories about Saskatchewan rather than national or international stories.