History: North America: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Universal
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online: Academic EditionComprehensive reference work including content from several resources: Encyclopaedia Britannica and Britannica Concise Encyclopedia articles as well as media, web sites, and videos. Magazines and journals are also available. Also includes dictionary and thesaurus as well as notable quotations from Merriam-Webster's Dictionary & Thesaurus.
Access Note: Mobile app with limited access available for iOS. - Oxford English Dictionary (OED Online)
The "accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words past and present from across the English-speaking world. As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from those of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You'll still find these in the OED, but you'll also find the history of individual words, and of the language traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to films scripts and cookery books."
- Oxford DictionariesAccess to all nine language dictionaries and reference resources, with recommendations on grammar, spelling, usage, and style tailored to various scenarios. The nine languages available are: English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, Chinese, Arabic, and Portuguese.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of ModernismThe largest and most comprehensive resource available for all those involved in the study of modernism. With over 2,000 articles from experts in the field, the interdisciplinary content is fully cross-referenced, allowing for greater discoverability between fields, and covers eight key subject areas: Literature, Architecture, Visual Arts, Music, Dance, Theatre, Film, and Intellectual Currents.
USA and North America
- America: History & Life with Full Text (AHL)The CLIO Notes feature of this database is a topic guide accessible from the navigation bar at the top of the home page. Clio Notes will guide you through key topics in United States history.
Arts and Humanities Through the ErasPublication Date: 2005A reference book "profiling milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music, and religion from a specific period, each volume in this five-volume set helps students and researchers understand the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture."
- Dictionary of American Family NamesA reference work documenting "70,314 surnames giving their meaning, nationality, alternate spellings, common forenames associated with them, and the frequency of each surname and forename."
- Encyclopedia of African American History: 1619-1895Three volume electronic reference work edited by by Paul Finkelman and documenting the full range of the African American experience from the arrival of the first slave ship through the death of Frederick Douglass.
- Encyclopedia of African American History: 1896 to PresentPaul Finkelman's follow up electronic reference work documenting the African American experience from 1896 through to the present.
- Encyclopedia of Food and CultureReference work (2003) presenting "600 articles on food and its place in human culture and society, covering everything from agronomy to zucchini."
- The Grove Encyclopedia of the Decorative ArtsA reference work covering "thousands of years of decorative arts production throughout western and non-western culture."
- Oxford Encyclopedia to World Exploration, 2007 ed.Reference source that "offers information on all topics of exploration worldwide, including advances in navigation, the discovery of the New World, polar expeditions, and the space age."
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History"International in scope and spanning all time periods of human history." It includes 900 original articles by noted scholars and "coverage ranging from accounting and advertising to zoning and zoos."
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in AmericaA reference work including nearly 200 contributors from academia, industry, and the culinary world and 700 original articles covering "the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink."
- Oxford encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United StatesA reference work drawing together "the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican CulturesA reference work covering the fields of art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, Latin American culture, and the history of Mesoamerica. "Organized alphabetically, the articles range from 500-word biographies to 7,000-word entries on geography and history to the legacy of the arts, writings, architecture, and religious rituals."
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Maritime HistoryA reference work covering the entire history of seafaring, from ancient Egyptian shipbuilders to the nuclear submarines and supertankers of today, edited by John B. Hattendorf.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World HistoryA definitive reference work that covers the role women have played throughout world history, edited by Bonnie G. Smith.
- The People's Chronology, 3rd EditionAn electronic reference book, presenting "a year-by-year record of human events from prehistory to the present."
- Witchcraft in AmericaA reference work covering "the history of witchcraft in the United States from the hysteria that facilitated the witch hunts during the Colonial Period to modern day followers of Wicca."
- World War II Reference Library, 2000 ed.A reference work covering "significant events, topics, and people related to World War II.
Canada
- The Canadian EncyclopediaMultimedia encyclopedia of Canadian history available in English and French. It is home to more than 40,000 articles, 6,000 interactive maps, graphs, photographs and animations. Includes the Encyclopedia of Music in Canada.
- Dictionary of Canadian Biography
1000 to 1930. Biographies of people who played an important role in the formation of what is now Canada, and died between the years 1000 and 1930. - Dictionary of Canadianisms on Historical PrinciplesAn open-access resource.
- Encyclopedia of Canada's PeoplesEntries on 119 peoples/communities in Canada and 13 thematic essays. The focus is on settler communities but also includes many entries about Indigenous peoples.
- Encyclopedia of SaskatchewanOnline edition
