ASTR 104 Astronomy of Planets: Home

Welcome ASTR 104 Students!

Solar System. NASA. Accessed May 4, 2017

The purpose of this guide is to help you with your term research project in ASTR 104. The main page includes resources that help you to find information related to your research topic, and the left side lists other information that may be useful for your research report.

Resources

Search the databases listed below to find information for your research project.

Gale Academic OneFile Select (GAOFS)
This full text database provides information related to astronomy and many other fields in scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many with images!
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Academic Search Complete (ASC)
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. It provides access to information in astronomy from scholarly journals and magazines.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

This online encyclopedia provides overview of the solar system.

Encyclopedia of the Solar System by Torrence Johnson (Editor); Doris Breuer (Editor); Tilman Spohn (Editor)
ISBN: 9780124160347
Publication Date: 2014-05-30
This online book provides a framework for understanding the origin and evolution of the solar system, historical discoveries, and details about planetary bodies and how they interact--with an astounding breadth of content and breathtaking visual impact.

Government Space Agencies

The websites of government space agencies include a wealth of information about the planets in the solar system. The images from these agencies are copyright free (except their logos), but you still need to cite the source!

NASA

National Aeronautics and Space Administration of the United States

CSA

Canadian Space Agency

ESA

European Space Agency

Solar System Exploration - Planet fact sheets from NASA

--overview articles, data, images

NASA's JPL Photojournal

You may search images by Mission, Spacecraft, Instrument, etc.