E-book version. A reference book "profiling milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music, and religion from a specific period, each volume in this five-volume set helps students and researchers understand the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture."
"A reference work providing in-depth information on China, with a clear focus on the modern period from the mid-nineteenth century to the 21st century. The encyclopedia is the result of an international academic effort, and covers the history, geography, society, economy, politics, science, and culture of China."--Publisher's website
"Covering the “long” Enlightenment, from the rise of Descartes' disciples in 1670 to the restoration of the Bourbon monarchy in 1815, these 700 articles by leading scholars range from discussions of mercantilism and democracy to the battlefield to the dissemination of ideas in salons and coffeehouses. Breaking conventional geographical boundaries, coverage includes not only Western Europe but also North America, Brazil, and Iberian, Russian, Jewish, and Eastern European cultures."
"Beginning with the mid-19th century, when China encountered the West and began to enter the modern age, this unique Encyclopedia offers a quick overview of the world's largest and most populous nation. The coverage includes not only major political topics, but also surveys the arts, business, literature, education, journalism, and other major aspects of the nation's social, cultural, and economic life. The Encyclopedia offers significant material on such neglected subjects as women and minorities, modern drama, Sino-French War, and Mongolian independence. Special emphasis throughout is on the dramatic changes that have taken place in the country since the end of World War II."--BOOK JACKET
E-book version. An electronic reference work that "offers information on all topics of exploration worldwide, including advances in navigation, the discovery of the New World, polar expeditions, and the space age."
E-book version. A reference work with over 4,000 entries providing "rich detail on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe, including comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period."
E-book version. "International in scope and spanning all time periods of human history," it includes 900 original articles by noted scholars and "coverage ranging from accounting and advertising to zoning and zoos."
E-book version. Online reference work covering social and intellectual history of early modern Europe, including "the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature."
The largest and most comprehensive resource available for all those involved in the study of modernism. With over 2,000 articles from experts in the field, the content is fully cross-referenced, allowing for greater discoverability between fields, and covers eight key subject areas: Literature, Architecture, Visual Arts, Music, Dance, Theatre, Film, and Intellectual Currents.
Comprehensive reference work including content from several resources: Encyclopaedia Britannica and Britannica Concise Encyclopedia articles as well as media, web sites, and videos. Magazines and journals are also available. Also includes dictionary and thesaurus as well as notable quotations from Merriam-Webster's Dictionary & Thesaurus. Access Note: Mobile app with limited access available for iOS.
License Information: This is a Saskatchewan Multitype Library Database Licensing Project (MDLP) license. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
The Dictionary of Irish Biography (DIB) is a project of the Royal Irish Academy. It tells the island’s life story through the biographies, at home and overseas, of prominent men and women born in Ireland, north and south, and the noteworthy Irish careers of those born outside Ireland. Launched in 2009 after many years of research by hundreds of contributors, the DIB’s online edition now features nearly 11,000 lives and continues to grow. The DIB regularly publishes new entries on important figures who have died in recent times, and on ‘missing persons’: previously overlooked figures deserving fresh interest. As well as its online database, the DIB is available in print, with eleven volumes published by Cambridge University Press to date. It has also published several themed books which curate DIB entries to give a deeper insight into the lives of the men and women involved in major Irish historical events, movements and migrations.
This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
E-book version. An illustrated collection of biographies of over 57,000 people who shaped the history of Britain, from the earliest times to the 21st century. It includes noteworthy people in any walk of life who were connected with the British Isles and British history worldwide.
The "accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words past and present from across the English-speaking world. As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from those of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You'll still find these in the OED, but you'll also find the history of individual words, and of the language traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to films scripts and cookery books."
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Access to all nine language dictionaries and reference resources, with recommendations on grammar, spelling, usage, and style tailored to various scenarios. The nine languages available are: English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, Chinese, Arabic, and Portuguese.
License Information: Access is restricted to one (1) simultaneous user. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.