History: Modern World: Significant E-Book Collections
E-Books
- ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB): American Council of Learned SocietiesAn American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) collection of scholarly electronic books covering most humanities disciplines, recommended and reviewed by humanities scholars. Formerly known as the ACLS History e-Book Project. Topic and regional coverage is very broad.
- ARTFL Project: American and French Research on the Treasury of the French LanguageA collection of databases and individual works providing access to over 3,000 full text French language texts covering all areas of French studies, including: literature, philosophy, arts, and the sciences. Collections include works by early French women writers, as well as works by pre-1920 writers, including Balzac, Corneille, Diderot, Dumas, Flaubert, Zola, etc.
- ATLA Historical Monographs CollectionThe ATLA Historical Monographs Collection contains two series that encompasses titles in the fields of religion and theology. You can access the collections separately by choosing Series 1 (1300s-1893) or Series 2 (1894-1922) from within the database search page at the top.
- Cambridge Histories OnlineFull text collection of over 260 volumes of the Cambridge Histories reference series, published since 1960 by the Cambridge University Press. All the available volumes are grouped into 15 different academic subjects: American history, British history, general history, history of science, history of the book, language and linguistics, literary studies, music, philosophy, political and social theory, regional history, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts, and warfare. The extensive bibliographic referencing and other leading functionality enhances usability and makes this resource ideal for any type of historical research.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)A full text collection of English printed works for the period 1475-1700 listed in the Pollard & Redgrave and Wing Short Title Catalogues, also known as STC I and STC II, as well as in the Thomason Tracts. Titles are included in the Library Catalogue. The University of Saskatchewan Library is a member of the EEBO Text Creation Partnership [EEBO-TCP] coordinated by the Universities of Michigan and Oxford, an initiative creating searchable, full text versions of 25,000 EEBO titles accessible through both the EEBO and EEBO-TCP interfaces. Illustrations are are accessible as separate documents.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO I & II)Digital image collection covering "every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas." Collection is based on the English Short Title Catalogue. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare.
- InteLex PAST MASTERSSeries of full text humanities databases or collections of definitive scholarly editions, in both the original language and in English translation, of the full corpora of seminal figures in the humanities and social sciences, including their published and unpublished works, articles and essays, and correspondence. Much of the content is licensed from Oxford University Press, with significant collections from other major scholarly publishers including Harvard University Press, Indiana University Press and Pickering & Chatto.
- Making of the Modern WorldA digital collection of millions of pages of unique primary sources tracking the development of the modern, western world using trade and wealth as a central focus. Supports research in history, political science, technology and industry, economics, and more. In 2015, the University of Saskatchewan updated this resource with part two of the collection, and in 2018, we added part three.
E-Books Continued
- Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineA digitized archive collection which provides "searchable content from a wide-range of primary sources" from the 19th century. It includes resources such as books & monographs, newspapers & periodicals, diaries & personal letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamplets, maps and sheet music. Works include material in Western and non-Western language from institutions around the world. We have access to the complete collection.
- Oxford Scholarly Editions Online (OSEO)Oxfords scholarly editions provide trustworthy, annotated primary texts for scholars and students. OSEO currently includes writers active between 1485 and 1901, plus Classical Latin and Greek authors from Aeschylus, Austen, Bentham, Catullus, Dickens, and Donne through to Virgil and Wordsworth. It contains more than 1,000 scholarly editions the equivalent of more than 543,000 print pages.
- Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO)Collection of Oxford University Press online scholarly monographs in the core areas of: Biology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience, Palliative Care, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health & Epidemiology, Religion, Social Work, and Sociology.
- Victorian Popular CultureA portal to digitized books and documents describing Victorian popular culture and popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Users are invited "into the darkened halls, small backrooms and travelling venues that hosted everything from spectacular shows and bawdy burlesque, to the world of magic and spiritualist seances."